Free motion Quilting Class (part 3).

Where was I?

Ah yes… The machine stopped suddenly. I thought I’d simply run out of thread in the bobbin, so I opened the bobbin hatch and pulled on the bobbin release stick thing. 

It came off in my hand.

This thing is supposed to be welded on. There I was, a little stick of metal in my hand, staring stupidly at the bobbin still in my machine. I fiddled around, fished the bobbin out and asked Deborah if this was serious.

She dropped everything and came around to have a look.

 

p32900071

“Hmmmm, I’ve never seen anything like this before in all my years of teaching,” she murmured. I swallowed. I don’t mind standing out in a crowd but this didn’t sound good.

“Umm… can’t we just jiggle it a bit to get the bobbin back in or something? I asked.

She straightened up from peering at the machine and turned to me. “You can’t use it. That stick holds the bobbin in. Your machine can’t work. It needs a new bobbin case.”

I blinked at her. I looked at my lovely new machine. I couldn’t believe this was happening to me. I looked around the room at all of the sympathetic faces looking at me from over the tops of their perfectly behaved machines. It wasn’t fair.

“Go and call the shop straight away. This is outrageous. They should check out and service every machine that they have come through their doors…”

I went to the front of Amitie and borrowed their phone and dialed the number of the shop in Camberwell. A cheery voice answered. A young girl who wasn’t there the night before when I’d bought the machine.

I explained my problem, with particular emphasis on how I had only bought the machine from them five minutes before.

“Well, just pop down and we’ll give you a new bobbin case,” the girl said.

Between gritted teeth, I explained that I was in a class. A class that I had bought the machine for.

“What sort of class?” asked the girl. She was very chirpy.

“A free motion quilting class,” I said.

“OOO, how lovely!”

Not anymore,” I wailed. 

I went back to the rest of the class. I knew I had to use the teacher’s machine for the rest of the day. Again. She was demonstrating the next design we were going to try. I stood behind the other women and felt tears pricking at the corners of my eyes. I felt so cold, empty and disappointed. Why was it that everything I try and do ends up turning to shit? 

Don’t you dare cry! I thought to myself. (Well, not being pyschic I couldn’t think to anyone else.) Don’t you lose it! Get a grip! I knew that if anyone spoke to me at that particular moment I’d cry like a baby. Which is NOT what Frogdancer is all about. So I focused on what we were meant to be learning, swallowed hard and pinched my hand to make myself think about something else. It worked. The sooky la-la teary feeling went away.

During the morning tea break I packed up the machine. No point having it sit there mocking me. I was crawling under the table to unplug the power cord when I said, “This machine is going to have a man’s name. It’s definitely a man! It lulled me into a false sense of security, and then he pulled the rug out from under me. It’s a man all right….”

After class I drove straight to the Camberwell shop and picked up the new bobbin case. They gave me excellent customer service. They were as gobsmacked as the teacher because apparently this NEVER happens.

On the way home the perfect name for my machine popped into my head.

Mr Darcy.

He and Elizabeth Bennet started out badly, but in the end they had a beautiful relationship.

I’m telling the cosmos now that this is what is going to happen here.  Otherwise I’ll throw it into a lake, where I’ll bet my Mr Darcy will NOT emerge looking all sexy and interesting.

This entry was posted in quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Free motion Quilting Class (part 3).

  1. andi says:

    Mr Darcy is a perfect name.
    Not that I would wish this tragedy and stress on anyone, but I am quietly a bit glad you had to use the teacher’s machine. It meant we got to have more of a chat.
    How is Mr Darcy behaving himself since then? Or haven’t you been game to try?
    Andi 😉

  2. Marita says:

    (((hugs)))
    Mr Darcy is the perfect name.

  3. jeanie says:

    Oh thank goodness for that!!!!

  4. Mistress B says:

    Great name!

    And I’m glad you got it fixed in the end.

  5. Michelle says:

    Phew! So glad it has a happy ending, this story! I love the name Mr Darcy.

  6. Melanie says:

    Oh dear. I do hope he behaves himself more appropriately from now on!

  7. Laura says:

    Oh GOD!! I was nearly in tears with you there, railing at the cosmic fate of ‘shit happening’. And you were NOT producing anything like it, if the sample in the previous post is anything to go by.

    I’m glad it worked out in the end. TWO drives to Camberwell will be a small price to pay for your very own Mr Darcy, who will give you much pleasure. Great name. Positive thinking. Cry no more.

    I can’t wait to see the next products! The sample was fantastic, I want to go and flog my (sad 20 year old, obscure but sturdy) Pinnock into action!

  8. persiflage says:

    As they say (or sing) in the opera, Ohime, respiro. (I breathe again). This usually happens when the male discovers that “his” female was not really unfaithful. He just thought she was. It is good to see it happening from female to male. Mr Darcy had better behave. Happy quilting.

  9. river says:

    “That NEVER happens.”

    HaHaHa.

    Bet it never happens again.
    I wish you happy quilting from now on.

  10. Elizabeth says:

    Glad you have the machine back in line, what a saga. Good name but just remember, “Mr Darcy” ended up in Mama Mia wearing some shocking lycra…

  11. I am going to pinch my hand hard.

    And in the meantime beg the sewing machine gods to take care of Mr Darcy.

  12. nicole says:

    YAY, I hope he’ll behave better at home. Maybe it was just the environment and the many ladies present?

  13. Rosemary says:

    I hope that you can get Mr Darcy back in line. Love the name!

  14. Suzy says:

    “That NEVER happens.”

    Yeh. Love that line. It’s right up there with
    “I’ve never done this before”…
    and “you’re the first”.

    Love
    Suzy

  15. paige says:

    Not to mention the ecological implications of throwing a sewing machine into a lake.

    Wheesh. I sincerely hope that Mr. Darcy behaves in a much more gentlemanly manner from now on.

  16. thanks for the morning LOL. it made my stressed out office seem a little more bright.

    have fun sewing fun quilts. I have always wondered how that wonderful quilting was done.

  17. Guera says:

    I love the three part story – had me on the edge of my seat! I’m so glad your machine is fixed now – I can relate to the (wo)man vs machine saga after having a few teary moments with my computer lately (for a few scary hours last week I thought I’d lost everything on it – photos, work, financials…everything!) Thank goodness the backup worked. 🙂
    Anyway, can’t wait to see how you whip Mr Darcy into shape and produce some masterpieces!

  18. Courtney says:

    I am glad that the saga has a happy ending.

    I can’t wait to see your next quilt.

  19. mamatulip says:

    I’ve just caught up on all the posts and I have to say that I *loved* them; they were so well written. I felt like I was right there with you.

    And I think that Mr. Darcy is an excellent name.

  20. frog says:

    Love it!

    Course, I want a very new, electronic sewing machine. Perhaps I could siphon off our Rudd money….I’m sure nobody would notice.

    Independence has a helluva lot going for it.

  21. Fairlie says:

    Love this three-parter! Hope you and Mr Darcy will be very happy together.

    On a related, but different topic…did you watch Lost in Austen?

  22. Allie says:

    Love it love it love!

Don't be shy... say something!

