The Imposter’s Daughter.

Giveaway! The Impostor’s Daughter

DSC_0002
Last week sometime I arrived home and there was a parcel in the letterbox, all the way from America. (I sound a bit like Joan Armatrading, don’t I?)
The lovely Alexis from Knot Sew Crafty (which is a name I totally would have used for my blog if she hadn’t pinched it first… or if I had a good brain for puns) had a giveaway recently and I won.
I opened the parcel, sent her a quick email and went on with my life, intending to read it over the weekend. That night I picked it up, flipped it open, gasped in amazement and started reading. I was finished the next day. It’s fascinating. Here’s what Alexis had to say about it:

“Wowza.

 

I just finished this book and that’s all I can say.

 

Wow.

 

I took a peek in when it arrived in the mail, and did not put it down until I was finished.

 

Laurie Sandell grew up in my hometown, but I didn’t know her.  I think I babysat for her and her sisters once, but other than that my only knowledge of her comes from reading her magazine articles over the years.  I always liked her magazine writing, and I thought it would be nice to support a hometown girl, so I ordered it.

Wow.

Wow.

I realize that I’m gushing incoherently, so I’ll share the blurb on the the cover flap, which says it all better than I ever could:

 

 

 

Laurie Sandell grew up in awe–and sometimes in terror–of her larger-than-life father. A former Green Beret with a law degree, a PhD, and fluency in several languages, he told dazzling tales of life in Buenos Aires, heroism in Vietnam, friendships with Henry Kissinger and the pope. In her childhood drawings, Laurie placed her father prominently among the faces on Mount Rushmore and herself ant-sized, gazing up at him. Beguiled and repelled by outrageous behavior, she grew into a young woman as restless as her father, roaming the globe, trying on her own outsized personalities–Tokyo stripper, seducer of Yeshiva girls, yogi, Ambien addict. Laurie finally lucked into the perfect job: interviewing celebrities for a top women’s magazine. Growing up with her extraordinary father gave her a knack for relating to the stars–she slipped easily into their surreal worlds, having lived in one herself. Yet even after meeting so many of entertainment’s most intriguing people, it was her father she still desperately wanted to understand.

 

Her investigation uncovered a staggering secret: her father wasn’t the man he had always claimed to be, not even close. His unbelievable stories were in fact an extravagant collection of lies, the discovery of which shook Laurie to the core.

 

In The Impostor’s Daughter, Laurie Sandell asks: if the man whose identity is the basis of my own is a fraud, then who am I? This is a brilliantly original and dramatic graphic memoir, a father-daughter story as achingly loving and heartbreakingly honest as it is visually captivating.”

Like Alexis, I’m also going to give away my copy of this book. Let’s call it a 516th post celebration. Leave a comment below and I’ll announce a winner on the weekend. International entries welcome. Woo hoo! Happy 516th to me!!!

This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The Imposter’s Daughter.

  1. Katrina says:

    Gee that sounds like a book to really get you thinking. How much of what we become and do are we basing on what we are hearing or being told by others? How much of it is actually true? (we all embellish stories to make them sound better, make us sound better and make things more interesting but h0w many people actually totally create something – I have a friend with this unfortunate habit and it is hard work)
    Maybe this is another reason to be totally relaxed with who we actually are and what we are becoming and base them on our own feelings of who we are and not be relying on others to justify what we do!

  2. Mad Woman says:

    Oh wow. I love a book that makes you think and totally sucks you into the story. I’ve often wondered how much of what I’ve heard from my own parents has really defined who I am, and I think I’d be scared to death if I found out it was mostly lies. How awful!

    Pick me, pick me!! (I’m in NZ now..waaay cheaper than shipping to Canada !!)

    Love the cover art on the book too. It fits perfectly with the title.

  3. Sounds like a fascinating book – and I am in need of a fascinating book, through my name into the hat please.

  4. Sandi says:

    Sounds interesting! Please add my name to your drawing.

  5. Riayn says:

    Sounds like a fantastic book. I am a sucker for bios particularly those that explore family relationships and identity.

  6. river says:

    That sounds like it would be a great read. How amazing that you knew her “back then”.

  7. Lauren says:

    I am intrigued by this book. I have a family member who embellishes what has happened in the past – maybe this book could help me understand why he/she feels the need.

  8. Delurking for this. It sounds like a good read. 🙂

  9. Laura says:

    Yep, sounds fascinating!

    Count me in “Oh 516th wonderblogger!”

    X

  10. ann says:

    ooooooh sounds like an awesome read, please count me in. Maybe who wins can pass the book on again in another blog giveaway and the book could be tracked to see how far it travels……….

    • Frogdancer says:

      I confess… this was in my mind too. I think that if people put their bog addresses in it and send it on… it’ll be fascinating for someone after it has been sent on a few times. (It’s worth it… it’s really interesting!)

  11. Marita says:

    What a fantastic sounding book and a really hard question to have to face about her identity.

    Congratulations on 516 posts and please enter me in the draw 🙂

  12. trashalou says:

    Ooo! Identity-questioning. Undoubtedly uber-fascinating for one who has just discovered a twin on the other side of the world 😉

  13. persiflage says:

    Oh, pick me! I really want to learn to embellish and embroider the truth, and to pretend to be other than I really am. This book could help me to transform myself totally, and to opt out of reality. What an entrancing prospect! And it would save me from having to admit my putative willingness to go out and buy my own copy.

  14. Sanna says:

    Ooh, I love the idea of a globe-trotting book of an embillisher. I have some experience with that – someone elses account may be more amusing. And the perfect hazy day summer read… I promise to pass it on, should I be so lucky as to be chosen.

  15. I would love to win this book. My hubby recently got me a book at the library per my request of I will read anything you bring home. He checked out War & Peace. I have in the last two weeks only been able to read about 45 pages. This is due to the fact that I have forgotten all the french I studied at school, and every time I try to read someone starts asking me silly questions like do we have anything to eat? I had dreams of travelling the globe and just knew french would come in handy.

  16. ewe_are_here says:

    The book sounds fascinating … enough to hope if has to make another big ocean journey in my direction. 😉

  17. MistressB says:

    sounds interesting!

    It’s a strange feeling finding out that your parents have this whole other reality that doesn’t fit with what you know

  18. Ellen says:

    Hope I’m not too late to go into the hat – it sounds a fascinating read. Discovering that the foundations of your life are a tissue of lies must be shattering on so many levels. A bit like the childhood fantasy (when you are feeling wronged, as only a child can be wronged by mum, dad, siblings) of imagining that you were in actual fact, secretly adopted as a baby and that really you come from a whole different life. This little fantasy could then be shelved away at tea-time, sibling sharing her sweets or stroppy mood lifting. But how devastating in reality. I’d love to win this book.

  19. Isabelle says:

    Can I be in the hat also? You’ve got me intrigued! We probably never know our parents… or anyone really truly… but this seems to be taking the theory to an extreme.

    Happy 516th, by the way.

Don't be shy... say something!

