Soup Swap.

[soup+swap+generic.htm.jpg]

Even though we’re going into Summer here, everyone loves a good soup. (I made a delicious pea soup last night for my sons and my good self, with fresh mint from the garden. Oh me. Oh my.)

Those wild and crazy people in the northern hemisphere, who always have their seasons at the wrong times, (for example; imagine having Christmas in winter! It’s be far too cold to enjoy the presents you’d get, such as surf boards and bikinis. Utter madness!), are looking to fill their chilled little tummies with lots of good hearty broths and soups. Jessica is having a Soup Swap, so here is my contribution, (seeing as it’s already been Monday here for quite a few hours already.)

Here’s a recipes that my vegetable hating 13 year old utterly loves… to the point that I now have a perennial plot of leeks growing so that I can make this whenever I feel like it. The taste of this with leeks that 10 minutes ago were still alive and growing has to be tasted to be believed. (But it’s still great with store bought leeks…) The first time I made this, many years ago, he sneaked in and wrote “It is scrumptiously awesome!” in the recipe book. Apart from being pleased that he loved it so much, I was also very impressed that an 8 year old could spell that word correctly. Anyway, here it is:

Leek and Potato Soup.

*3 rashers bacon. (I just use a 250g packet of bacon bits/ham, whatever.)

*Oil

*2 Large leeks, sliced

*500g potatoes (2 medium), peeled and chopped

*4 cups chicken stock

*salt and pepper, to taste.

Add bacon to oil in pan, lightly fry. The recipe says to remove it, but I’m an impatient soul so I add the leeks straight away and cook until they goes bright green and softens. Such a lovely colour. If you remove the bacon you can add it at the end after you stick-blenderise it and you’ll have bacon bits in the soup. I just make mine smooth.

Add the potato and stock and cook until the potato is soft. (20 mins or so.)

Remove from heat, grab your stick blender and whizz the dickens out of it, avoiding the impatient 13 year old boy in your way who is already clutching a spoon and who wants to eat it now!.

Then, if you removed the bacon at the start, add it now. Add salt and pepper.

Serve.

This can stay in the fridge for 3 days, apparently. It never lasts that long in this house!

This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Soup Swap.

  1. Andi says:

    Sounds like an easy recipe for him to learn to make by himself!!! I’m pondering what I can replace the bacon with for my non-piggie-eating family.
    Thanks.
    Andi πŸ™‚
    PS You are SUCH an English teacher!! LOL

  2. river says:

    Sounds yummy. My leek and potato doesn’t have bacon, but I could probably crumble some into it when serving. And I too am impressed that an eight year old could spell scrumptiously.

  3. Jenn says:

    I’m from California, the part where there is no snow; my husband, on the other hand, is from Massachuessets where there is lots of snow. I once told him I felt so sorry for the kids there that they cound’t go enjoy the skates and bikes that they would have been given for Christmas. He just looked at me and replied, “Uh, we get sleds and skis for Christmas.” Oh. Er…. Yeah, okay!

    So, see, where you are joking I was totally serious:)

  4. libby says:

    i make the almost exact same soup but i also add ground coriander when you add the potatoes (dont know if it makes that much difference) but my soup lasts about 5 mins after blending πŸ™‚ im going to make some tomorrow!

    tonight we ate freshly murdered asparagus from the garden… steamed yum

  5. I’ve never made anything with leek…But, I’m going to try this. Thanks!

  6. Alexis says:

    I can’t wait to try this soup–it sounds amazing!

    Orzo is pasta that’s shaped kind-of like rice. I’m sure you could use cooked rice or any kind of small pasta that you like!

  7. Barefoot Mom says:

    Can’t wait to try this. I’ve made one similar to it but without the bacon. Thanks for sharing!

  8. Stomper Girl says:

    I don’t blame th 13 year old for hovering with a spoon, that sounds delicious and I am going to try it!

  9. Urspo says:

    oooh but I love soup!
    I would make some each week.

  10. wendy says:

    Mmmm! I’d forgotten how much I love this soup! Thanks for the reminder! πŸ™‚

  11. Ellen says:

    Sounds yummy. I make something similar with celery and a dash of cream. The weather here in England is grey and drizzly at the moment – I think I may have to get my big soup-pot out.

  12. jessica says:

    Thanks for sharing this recipe–it sounds like it would be tasty in the summer and winter!

  13. libby says:

    i made some tonight!!! yummo. just had to share that with you πŸ™‚ so quick, simple and nom nom nom tastay

Don't be shy... say something!

