The “Kitcheny” quilt.

P1110010 by you.

Here it is. Only in Australia would a quilt be held up getting photographed on a 43C/109F day!!!

So named because of what my mother said when she saw it on the ironing board half completed. She went on to say that the colours were “so kitcheny and cottage-y” and it killed all desire in me to finish this project. So I basted it and it sat on my dining room table for 4 months.

A couple of weeks ago I was chatting with Evan4 and I said something about finishing it and giving it away to someone and he looked at me as if I was mad.

“Are you mad?” he said. “I like this one the best out of all you’ve made.”

So, due both to him and my deep longing to tidy up the dining room table, I finished it.

But this quilt has had a hex on it. NOTHING has gone right.

Most people who’ve made this have just quilted in straight lines around the squares and it looks beautifully simple and streamlined. Most people actually read the instructions Amanda-Jean put down and made sure that their blocks actually line up properly. Some of mine are slightly askew, so straight line quilting was out of the question. You’d be able to see on the back where I’d had to go crooked to keep my lines around the squares, and you can’t have the stitching on the back looking wonky now, can you? I had no idea how to quilt this beast, but after making the rainbow quilt for Jesse a couple of weeks ago, I decided to use the same swirly quilt stitch for this quilt. So far so good. I took it from the table and unfurled it. Then gasped in horror.

P1060003 by you.

On one of the outer WHITE sashings there was a huge brown stain.

I have no photo. It was too traumatic. It stuck out like dog’s…. well, you know what I mean. I was horrified. How could this have happened? Then my mighty intellect started kicking over and I thought of bleach. Bleach makes things whiter than white, right? So I raced to the laundry, grabbed the bleach and a rag, and started enthusiastically dabbing away at the stain.

It worked! The stain disappeared. Then, and only then, did I think of seepage. I turned the quilt over and there on the back was this…

P1060005 by you.

This photo was taken later, after the quilting and the ‘fix’ I had to do. Because the pain wasn’t over yet…

Straight away after the bleach disaster I decided to stop dwelling on the mess and start quilting. The front of the quilt was what was important, and I’d put a label or something over the bleached out patch on the back… or maybe even leave it as a salutory warning not to jump into things with both feet. So I quilted happily away for the rest of the day.

The next morning when I unwrapped it, ready to put binding on it… the brown stain was back. Bleached bright yellow. I sighed in horror.

P1060006 by you.
“I hate my life,” I thought. “This isn’t fair. All I want to do is to finish my nanna quilt and make my boy happy.”
So I thought…
P1060008 by you.
I thought of the PATCHwork quilt. And I came up with this:
P1060004 by you.
It’s not ideal, and I had to go over the quilting on the patch so the back looks a bit suspect (as you’ve already seen), but to the casual observer it looks…
P1060007 by you.
…. mmmm…. ok-ish. Better than picking the whole thing apart and starting again, at any rate.
So that was the saga of the Kitcheny quilt, otherwise known as the 9 patch quilt-along quilt. Amanda-Jean organised two quilt-alongs with this quilt. I started with the first one, and finished way after the second one was done.
But finish it I did.
This entry was posted in quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The “Kitcheny” quilt.

  1. river says:

    Oh, it’s the 9 patch quilt! Here I was imagining something with patches of kitchen things like wooden spoons, saucepans, cakes and coffee cups, maybe a rolling pin or two. Bad luck about the stain, do you have any idea at all what caused it? Great idea on the fixit patch though. It looks good. I like it.

  2. jodie says:

    Oh hell…..why does that quilt hate you so much?

  3. libby says:

    the quilt looks lovely… as i kept on scrolling down your blog I started to smile and cracked up at your self portraits.

    I feel for you with the stains. One of the girls at my guild had a cream quilted tablecloth and it got scorched with an iron…. I suggested that she use lemon juice and some sunlight (gently) and it worked along with some gently scrubbing with a nail brush on the offending area.
    At least its done now… you can move on 🙂

  4. andi says:

    Love the new quilt. Gorgeous. Glad you’re keeping it.
    And those photos of you!! Classic!!
    You do make me laugh.
    Well done on the patch up the patchwork quilt. That’s what its all about.
    Andi x

  5. saffronlie says:

    It’s really gorgeous — perhaps all the problems you went through just makes it all the more valuable and special.

  6. Michaela says:

    The quilt looks great! I have no idea what I would do, but you tackle it all good. I think I would be still sobbing somewhere in the corner..

  7. Rebecca says:

    Oh but it looks so beautiful, you really would never know. I am very impressed at how you kept your cool and dealt with the problem, I think I would have been a weeping wreck.

  8. Lorraine says:

    Great quilt!….and you finished it which is (considering the setbacks) a mighty effort……I think if it were mine it would be forever banished to the “never to be finished” pile…..It is an impressive looking quilt….and the patch in the sashing is a great fix! You have stitched a lot of memories in that quilt….probably your Mum’s words will come back to you everytime you look at it! LOL

  9. Scott says:

    You make me laugh.

  10. Laura says:

    It took my breath away with the first photo!

    And then you took it away with the tale of woe and hilarious pics!

    Quilting is all about adaptation and flexibility. Good result, and it is only right that there should be a story to every quilt.

  11. ann says:

    mmmmm the old bleach leaching through 99, will get you every time, (can you guess I watched the Get Smart movie recently…….) Love those blue gloves, you are dedicated as quilting whilst a heatwave is happening. Are those gloves Ansell, if so, what type.

  12. That quilt is gorgeous! This is one of the best color combinations I have seen for a ninpatch quilt. The bleach is a real bummer – I, myself, have ruined too many things with being over-enthusiastic about the cleaning power of bleach!

Don't be shy... say something!

