Just come back from buying a washing machine.

This is the happy list of unexpected expenses since getting back from my unexpected holiday in Singapore which blew the budget slightly:

Fixing two locks on the car .. $600

Getting a new microwave after it blew up .. $200

New washing machine .. $800 (But it’s a lot bigger and has a much faster spin cycle, so I think I’ll love it. It arrives tomorrow. I need a name for him.)

Paying for David2’s school trip to Central Australia .. $8oo

(I’m cheating a bit, because that last one wasn’t exactly unexpected. Still, it’s been a pricey month.)

Tom1 looked at how much his uni books are going to cost and nearly had a conniption. (I laughed a lot. Was that wrong of me?)

“The cheapest book is $85, and the dearest one is about $160!! It’s OUTRAGEOUS!!

Yeah, welcome to the wonderful world of ‘Free’ Education, honey!

Added to the OUTRAGEOUS cost of his text books, his course is going to cost 9K a year in fees, which I am NOT going to pay either. However, if you pay up front you get 20% off, so I’m going to lend Tom1 the money and he will pay back the interest I will be paying on that money each year so I’m not out of pocket, then he’ll pay back the principal. I can’t afford to bankroll the kids’ uni courses, but at least I can help them out a little bit in this way. They’ll still end up being thousands of dollars ahead.

Of course, this means that he’ll never be able to afford to move out, so it’s not going to be an unmixed blessing for either of us. It also means that if I want to do any renovations on the house I should probably do them soon, before I have 3 kids at uni who all need the same deal. (I should have thought this whole big family thing through a little more when I was in baby making mode…)

Thank God I have a job. Thank God I can also trust them to pay me back.

Speaking of jobs, I’d better go and start organising things for tomorrow. My year 9s actually look reasonably human, which is rather a relief. They were listening intently today when I was waxing lyrical about the joys of creative writing, so that’s a hopeful sign of good things to come.

(I hope I haven’t put the mozz on it by writing that!)

This entry was posted in balance, Children., Quality of life, work. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Just come back from buying a washing machine.

  1. saffronlie says:

    Look at it this way: you’ve certainly done your bit for the economy!

    The textbook ridiculousness never ends. Since most of the texts I study are obscure and lucky to even get a published edition or translation they can end up costing ridiculous amounts. Of course I can usually get what I need from the library but eventually I’m going to have to make some long-term investments in books. And now you’ve just reminded me of my HECS debt, which makes me cry every six months when I get the lovely statement with updated interest. My only consolation is that I will probably never finish uni and thus will never have to pay.

  2. Snickerdoodle says:

    Hi there! Text books are outrageously priced and you can very rarely get your money back on them which is a real pain.

    Anyway, I thought Tom1 might like to check out http://www.textbookexchange.com.au as he could be able to get some secondhand off that site – its’ worth a shot anyway.

    Also http://www.bookdepository.co.uk is worth a look too (for ALL sorts of books). They have free postage worldwide too. WARNING – This site is addictive lol!

  3. mary says:

    A glimpse into the future!

    Wally the washing machine…

  4. persiflage says:

    Herr Washalot?
    And what is his father going to contribute towards those university fees? The usual?
    And can he get any of the books second-hand?

  5. Mad Woman says:

    Yikes! I hope you haven’t jinxed the rest of the year!

    Um…is the daddy figure going to pitch in any cashola for those fees and books?

  6. M says:

    New washing machine? Good at spin? It’d have to be a politician. Kevin? Wayne? Julia? Perhaps you have a local VIC politician who might suit. He/she might even be available for an official ceremony…

  7. Andi says:

    You’re a great mum!!

  8. frog says:

    We spent about the same on a washing machine – just as we thought we nearly had enough for a new mattress – but it’s so good! The bloke has accused me of going all Stepford over it.

    Be careful about naming it – you may fall in love with it.

  9. Mwa says:

    Do they not have some kind of second-hand book thing going? It seems to be institutionalised over here.

  10. Courtney says:

    Not sure if you can get textbooks online discounted there (like amazon or half.com) – that’s what I do, but I’m over in the US. I save a lot that way.

    A washing machine name. . . hmmm.

  11. Jayne says:

    Has Tom checked out the second hand text book shop in the city, Academic and General bookshop,it’s got 3 outlets so there’s good chances they may have 2nd hand copies of a particular book in one of their shops.
    Technical Bookshop (also in Swanston st) is another that springs to mind but the other is first port of call.

  12. moonspun says:

    I just heard some cash registers in the background reading that post!

  13. Watershedd says:

    I’ll join you in the “dammit” dept. Hope things improve soon.

Don't be shy... say something!

