Inside information.

Last night I was sitting on the couch, having a bit of a sook to Ryan3 about how busy work is, especially the year 9 English Skills class, and how much I wish I didn’t have a double period with them tomorrow.

He looked at me and asked, “Is that the class you teach with P and D in it?” (P and D are his friends.)

“Yes, ” I sighed.

He looked at me as if I was barking mad. “They LOVE that class! P says it’s his favourite!”

Really?!?” I sat bolt upright and stared at him. I was genuinely shocked. I thought that all the kids were forced to be there by their parents and so were harboring deep resentment and loathing.

“Yeah. P says that it’s the only class where he has fun. He looks forward to it, and so does D.”

Well knock me down with a feather. I can’t tell you what a difference it made to my attitude.

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Inside information.

  1. paige says:

    This year, I have a kid who I thought hated my guts. He’s in a class with my daughter. When she told me that he said I was his favorite teacher…and he didn’t know that she was my daughter..that made such a big difference. He’s a bright kid, but not into English and he’s very sarcastic. Now he’s one of *my* favorites.

  2. Rhu says:

    I am slowly easing myself back into blogland. Look at what I have missed…

    With the age that I teach, I rarely worry about the children liking me. (there’s never been an issue) The parents, on the other hand… and we do have to deal with them a lot!

  3. Mwa says:

    That would make SUCH a difference!

Don't be shy... say something!

