Baby Quilt for Karen.

Don’t you hate it when you finish a quilt and give it to the recipient at work, only to realise that you’ve forgotten to photograph it, so you duck home in your spare period to pick up the camera (and hang out a load of washing while you’re there), come back, take some snaps which are too blurry to use so you get a different friend to hold up the quilt again, take ONE photo which is still blurry but slightly better than the first and then your camera battery dies because your oldest son has used your camera to take lots of shots for the front cover of his cd he’s recorded and didn’t charge the battery when he finished?

Come on now, don’t lie. I’m sure this has happened to each and every one of you.

p2220140I promise that in real life the edges are beautifully straight and crisp.

This is the first commissioned quilt that I’ve done, so it was a bit of a milestone, plus it was the first cot/crib sized quilt I’ve made. The process was fun.

First, Karen popped in after work one night and I pulled out all of the tubs of fabric I had in the cupboard, stood back and let her dive in and ferret around. (You have no idea how badly I wanted to say ‘root around’ like I constantly see the UK quilters say when they’re picking through their stash, but Karen reads this blog and she might get offended. She’s simply not that kind of girl.) She selected some fabric that she liked, with the stipulation that she didn’t want it to be too pink and girly, we sat and looked at various quilts on the computer until she found the look she was going for and then after a cup of tea and a chat she left me to it.

I modified this tutorial for a wonky squares quilt. It would have been fun to do the wonkiness but Karen had mentioned that the couple she’s giving the squares to are a bit traditional in their taste so I thought I’d better stick to a design where all the squares looked the same. The tutorial gave me the dimensions I needed to use the symmetrical squares, so it saved me a bit of time. (Anything that saves me having to do Maths is a good thing.)

p2220138I quilted it with the swirly design I’ve done for the last few quilts, which seems to be rapidly becoming my signature quilting, and backed it with a cute teddy bear fabric that had caught Karen’s eye during the fabric selection visit. I was glad that I had enough for the job because it looks fantastic. A simple black and white polka dot finishes off the quilt as the binding and the whole thing is done.

Thanks Karen. I hope you like it!

This entry was posted in quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Baby Quilt for Karen.

  1. Jayne says:

    Gorgeous!

    As for making God laugh and Tony… dig a hole in the vegie patch, Tony can be useful fertilising the future frugal vegie plants.
    God, on the other hand, is a tad too big to take on 😉

  2. Kim says:

    Hey there! I am loving this photo of your quilt. Fantastic quilt and I’ll bet the recipient is loves it! On Tony ~ wouldn’t do your veggies any favors to plant that guy in the garden…how about the local landfill?

  3. Marylee says:

    I like it! You make quilt making sound easier than taking a photo of it. That gem (the quilt) looks like it took a LOT of work! It will brighten up any room. The mixture of the red/pink/oranges really pops!
    Won’t be your last commission–you, with all that spare time! LOL!

  4. Andi says:

    Gorgeous quilt!!

  5. Marita says:

    It looks lovely. Congratulations on the finish 🙂

  6. so jealous of you crafty people.

  7. mumma boo says:

    Gorgeous! I love seeing photos of your work. You’re so talented!!

Don't be shy... say something!

