No one guessed correctly!

Ah well, what can you do?

The answer to the big Essay Bloopers competition was 12 and 17.

This will be a short post. I’m incredibly strung out at the moment. David2 left yesterday for a school camp to Central Australia. He’ll be gone 13 days, (hooray!), much of it outside mobile range. Here’s a map of Australia.

Australia

We live in Melbourne, which for those wild and crazy Americans people who don’t know geography, is right down at the bottom of the mainland.

The school group are going into the middle of Australia (hence the term CENTRAL Australia. Yes I know I’m very helpful. Stop rolling your eyes.). They’ll be at Alice Springs on Wednesday, which is mere 2249km/1397 mile drive away.

My mobile rang this morning. Due to a last minute repacking of his stuff into a slightly bigger bag on the morning of his departure, David2 has left the house to travel to the most isolated part of the country without the medication that he needs to take every day. I nearly had kittens. I swear, if squeezing out a couple of kittens would have fixed the situation then Daphne and Maris would now have two little buddies. I talked with one of the teachers and we agreed that the only way to get it to him was by post.

I was lucky enough to find a post office near us that was open on a Sunday, but I was dashed to discover that Australia Post doesn’t have an Express Post service to Alice Springs. It’ll take around 5 days to get his medicine to them. I can’t fax a script because no chemist can fill a script that way, so he’s just going to have to hang on till it gets there. I could punch him. At least he was able to call me before they got out of mobile range, which happens some time today.

I have a stress headache. I NEVER get headaches and now I know why. They hurt and make you cross.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to No one guessed correctly!

  1. Stomper Girl says:

    I got one right!

    Poor you and your stress headache. He owes you a massage when he gets back.

  2. amandab says:

    Males and packing, huh?

    Whenever my husband heads off to work (he goes for 2 days and we don’t see him in-between) I always pack his lunch and dinners so nothing is forgotten.

    If he took Princess out on his own I would always pack the nappy bag (which got left behind half the time!).

    Hope the headache goes away soon.

  3. Mad Woman says:

    Oh no! I hope he’ll be ok til it gets there. Enjoy the time he’s gone and try not to worry too much.

  4. saffronlie says:

    Oh dear. I hope he doesn’t suffer any horrid side effects until he gets the meds. On the plus side, wow, central Australia! I had some pretty good school camps but nothing that beats Alice Springs.

  5. persiflage says:

    I hope he gets the medication, that your headache has gone, and that there is soon a cure for male acquired helplessness disorder. Honestly, sometimes you would swear they do it on purpose.

  6. libby says:

    hope your headache goes and the postie outdoes himself and gets the meds there quicker than 5 days!! kids!!!

  7. Jayne says:

    And therein lies the reason why the human race will fall in a heap if women stop packing for males.

  8. Widget says:

    grrrrr……..

    I feel your pain!

  9. nicole says:

    Can’t he just go to a doc and get a prescription on his way?
    I hope your headache’s already gone. And a shame no one guessed correctly, ey?

  10. Lorraine says:

    Kids! I hope it all turns out ok…..I feel for you!

  11. moonspun says:

    The map is very helpful for us Americans! 🙂 Sorry about your stress headache, it will be ok….

  12. Urspo says:

    You are correct most Americans don’t have a clue about geography; the tend to go to Canada in July with skis.

  13. Katrina says:

    chemist link up via internet/their system should be able to fix that

  14. Isabelle says:

    Oh, I sympathise. My daughter once rang me in tears from the south of France because she had bad period pains and had forgotten her medication. Short of a very fast carrier pigeon…

  15. sooz says:

    A chemist can indeed fill a faxed script! It may need to come from a doctor, but my doctor has regularly faxed scripts to chemists for me (and not just my local chemist, but chemists in other states) and then put the original script in the post to follow. This will be faster than 5 days, especially if you can get to the doctor by phone.

  16. maybaby says:

    Oh. Crap.

    In the states, most scrips are done by computer or fax. Maybe you could get the chemist to fax directly to another pharmacy?

    Dang it.

  17. river says:

    5 days without necessary DAILY medication?
    Will he be okay? He’s not putting his life at risk?
    Now I’m all worried for him and you.

Don't be shy... say something!

