A nice moment.

I’ve only got about 10 minutes till year 7 Parent/Teacher night starts, but I thought I’d jump on to share something.

At the moment I’m embroiled in Oral Presentations with 3 of my classes. The year 9s are doing Wide Reading reports.

Do you know how nice it is when a kid gets up and does an insightful, beautifully prepared speech on a novel that you, personally, really love?

Flowers For Algernon.”

I read this as a short story/novella but it has since been turned into a novel.

Little Pierre, with his delightfully french accent and his earnest demeanour, standing there delivering one of the best talks of the day, speaking about ‘Flowers For Algernon’ with passion and intelligence. (Even beat some of the year 12s, quality-wise…)

It’s so nice to see that stories that gripped me and pulled me in when I was their age are still working.

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A nice moment.

  1. river says:

    Flowers For Algernon.
    Added to my “read it sometime” list.

  2. mamatulip says:

    I read that in Grade 11 English. Everyone made fun of it, especially the boys, but I LOVED that book. I should re-read it sometime soon.

  3. Marita says:

    That would have been a fantastic moment. Don’t think I’ve ever read that book. Must add it to my library list 🙂

  4. Jayne says:

    I read it years ago and loved it, very similar to Awakenings by Oliver Sacks, they both make me cry 😉

  5. Laura says:

    aw, bless… good on him.

Don't be shy... say something!

