Why I like teaching.

I was teaching my year 12 ESL class and had to leave the room (ssshhhh) to photocopy a page in the text book because a lot of the kids had left the book at home. I came back into the room to see that one of the kids had written this on the whiteboard:

“Ms Frogdancer is a bright person who is constantly talking to us about serious issues with smiley faces.”

I don’t quite know what it means but I know that it was meant as a compliment.

***

Walking down the hallway towards class, with a “naughty” year 9 boy coming the other way. Realising that he is making eye contact and smiling at me as we pass each other.

***

Danny, in my year 12 ESL class, said to me that Tuesday is his favourite day of the week. “Why?” I asked, thinking that I’d hear that he had 3 or 4 free periods or something.

“Because it’s double ESL,” he said. “ESL’s my favourite subject.”

(That earned him a hug.)

*** 

I was in my year 9 English class and we were discussing a short story dealing with the Holocaust. Laura gave a beautifully perceptive answer to a question I posed and as she was saying it I noticed Kim was looking out of the window at my year 7 class who were out in the sunny yard eating the meal they’d made in Food Tech under the watchful gaze of Mrs H, their teacher. Mrs H is an older lady who is known to be a trifle short tempered if students make her annoyed.

As I clapped and said, Yes! Laura is absolutely spot on,”  Kim turned back and realised he’d missed something.

“What did she say?” he asked.

I was a bit annpoyed at him for allowing his concentration to drift so I said acidly, “Well, if you weren’t too busy looking out of the window perving on the year 7s you’d know, wouldn’t you?”

The class laughed at him, then he fatally uttered the following sentence to try and explain himself:

“No! I wasn’t looking at them, I was looking at Mrs H…”

I nearly fell off the front desk I was perched on, I was laughing that much.

***

Seeing David2 in a Maths class as I was walking past, and then standing at the window smiling and waving at him as he tried to pretend he didn’t know I was there. I’m sure he finds this endearing, at least on some level…

***

N doing a persuasive speech in ESL where he was in favour of nuclear energy. He had a powerpoint presentation where he had a conversation with God. He had an old engraving of God up on the screen and a soundtrack where God’s replies were coming out of the speakers. He had a friend record God’s side of the conversation, and I could tell by the vowel sounds which country his friend comes from.

I had no idea that South Africa was God’s own country…

***

Getting my flu vaccination for free every year. Also being forced to eat lollies to ‘recover’ from the injection. Some years I need to recover more than others, especially if the lollies are particularly nice.

***

I was talking with a couple of the year 12 students in the yard today. Will, who I taught in year 10, reminded me how he dressed up as a member of the KKK for his oral presentation that year. He got his Mum to make the costume out of an old sheet, complete with the hood and he made an excellent speech about racism.

I’d forgotten all about it. We were laughing about it, particularly when I said, “And the funniest thing about it was when you pulled off the hood at the end of your speech and there was an asian face looking at us! No way you’d EVER be accepted in that group!”

***

Seeing kids from school up the street on weekends and having them smile and say hi. It’s nice.

***

Explaining something to a kid and seeing the light go on and the “ohhhhh!”

***

The holidays. (Only 9-and-a-half weeks to go!!!)

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Why I like teaching.

  1. Sanna says:

    Looks to me as if the good vastly outweighs the bad!

  2. saffronlie says:

    Aww, lovely stories! Your students are so caring.

    Lollies after vaccinations are a must. There’s a donut shop near my doctor’s surgery so that’s how I reward myself for being brave after every visit. 😉

  3. maybaby says:

    Lovely.

    I may swipe this idea for my blog today, if it’s ok…now that things have calmed down, I’m inclined to like teaching again.

  4. Ellen says:

    Sounds like God is in his Heaven and all is well in your world today! Lovely stories.

  5. Isabelle says:

    Yes, these are some reasons why I liked school teaching as opposed to college teaching, which I do now. But on the other hand, college teaching is easier in many ways.

    I LOVE that rainbow quilt!!

  6. Jayne says:

    What fab feedback and great results you get, definitely followed your dream in life 😉

  7. moonspun says:

    I really like the variety of the reasons you gave. Big and small things!

  8. river says:

    Explaining something to a kid and seeing the light go on. That’s a great moment. I’ve seen it myself when training a new worker back in my factory years, and in the same years when I helped immigrant workers understand our language. They’d learnt English, but often didn’t understand Australian.

  9. Jenny@Erinport says:

    Hi Froggy – sending (((hugs))) for the special people in your house – no prizes for guessing that’s the doglets – and special extra big ((((hug)))) for Mr Bertams.

    I think you remind me of my Secondary School teacher in English and French – she was awesome – and had to be to put up with moi. Long gone to the big college in the sky, Mrs Ericson would sit me at the front of every class and then sit on the top of my desk, watching my every move !

    But hey, I passed – so she couldn’t have been too awful, could she ?

  10. Urspo says:

    I was fortunate to have some good teachers like yourself.

  11. Marylee says:

    All good reasons! That double ESL kid sounds like a sweetheart!

    Was God in favor of nuclear energy?

  12. The world needs more teachers like you.

    When I win the lottery I am stealing you to teach my kids.

  13. Very perceptive stuff. ESL? sounds good!

  14. Stacey says:

    Your posts remind me of an English teacher I had in my upper secondary years. She was wonderful and I bet you are too.

  15. Courtney says:

    Wow – that’s awesome – I need to show it to a friend who’s having a tough time remembering why she decided to be a teacher – ha ha!!

    ps – can’t imagine someone dressing up as the KKK here for anything . . . weird to think about how such a touchy subject isn’t that way to everyone.

  16. Ellen says:

    I see you have not posted for a while so I just wanted to say Hi and say that I hope everything is ok and that you are just busy at the moment. Hope you will be back soon.

Don't be shy... say something!

