So my chook had x-rays… so what?!?

Walking to work is just plain WRONG! It takes too long and you bump into ex-students who want to talk to you all the way to work. Then, at lunchtime when you have to come home to rotate the chickens…. sounds like I’ve got them on a spit or something, doesn’t it?… you don’t have a leisurely drive home, humming to the radio. NO! You have a frantic power walk because you don’t know if the car will be driveable so you might have to power walk all the way back to school in time for period 5 which you have to be there for because you’re showing the movie ‘Holes’ to the year 7s.

Fortunately, when I got home Dad was showing Tom1 how to put the tyre on. Apparently my spare tyre was flat as a tack too, so it was a bit of an adventure them. But it all ended well. Tom1 learned a manly skill and I drove sedately back to work.

Guess what happened yesterday after school?

I took the animals to the vet for their annual grease and oil change (their vaccinations) and at the last minute I popped Willow, the chook with the gammy leg, into a crate and took her along with us.

p5220136

There she is. Please don’t judge me by the state of the coop. It’s early and I haven’t cleaned up yet.

Here she is with Buffy, who was kind enough to lay an egg this morning. I had it poached, for breakfast. I feel that it did me good.

p5220137

Buffy’s the one looking at the camera.

Anyway, Willow ended up having 2 x-rays to determine what was wrong with her leg. Now before you think I’ve run mad, let me explain. John the Vet had a new digital x-ray machine there on approval for a week and it had just been set up, so he was desperate to play with it. I didn’t have to pay for it. My $20 brown chook got about $100 or more worth of tests to determine that she’s done a ligament and needs a week on the couch watching videos to recover.

How awesome is that? (The x-rays, not the couch.) Talk about being in the right place at the right time!

This entry was posted in chickens, Children., work. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to So my chook had x-rays… so what?!?

  1. Lee says:

    So you’re going to let her watch Season 1 of BTVS, right?!

  2. Pixie says:

    free xrays!!!!!
    fabulous!!!

  3. persiflage says:

    Well, she is certainly leading the life of Riley (Reilly?) even if no one else is. Tell her to be more careful and to move sedately.

  4. Scott says:

    Chickens. I can’t wait to see what comes next. I think you might need a goat! Good old Dr John. Please send him our love. Scott

  5. Ellen says:

    Glad your car is back on the road, all that healthy walking is fine and good … for so long. For Saturday night viewing, maybe Willow would enjoy ‘Chicken Run’ and then for a little horror she could fluff up her feathers under the quilt with the popcorn, taking an occasional peek at ‘The Birds’.

  6. river says:

    I’ve done a ligament too. Well, something similar. My shoulder has developed bursitis. It’s okay if I join Willow on the couch for a week of TV?

  7. libby says:

    she can sit and watch survivior with you!! teach her to knit a little chooky coat for winter ๐Ÿ™‚
    my friend has 3 chooks called sooty, sweep and sue. they gave me a dozen eggs… i got to scramble 3 for myself this morning before work and the rest were devoured by my girls today!
    I gave the 3 chooks a lovely big bunch of silver beet and some grapes for their eggies ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Lorraine says:

    Better Willow than you (with the ligament!)…you could have injured yourself running to and from school……..! Good on Dr John and his brand new machine!!

  9. Gosh,

    You so have to get copies of the xrays for the blog…

    SS

  10. Rhu says:

    Your chookie posts are cracking me up. I have been following along with a smile on my dial. It makes me feel better about blogging about my own girls!

  11. Lea says:

    Chooks. Ugh.

    I miss the eggs, but I don’t miss the mess and the shit – especially the shit in winter, when everything is wet.

    Give me guinea pigs any day ๐Ÿ™‚

    x

Don't be shy... say something!

