The Silence of the Dying.

Before I show you the photos of David2 taking his little chicks out in the backyard for the first time, go and read this.

Sara Douglass is a fantasy author who lives in Tasmania in a fabulous old house that she’s doing up. She has a background in medieval history which she’s used to fabulous effect in  a couple of series of novels that I’ve enjoyed very much. She’s a cat person who adores her 5 (I think) cats and she has a passion for growing her own food. She’s also got cancer.

She’s written a post about ‘The Silence of the Dying.’ Well worth a read.

****

Just realised that the camera is out of battery, so it won’t upload photos until I juice it up.

I know it’ll be a sad disppointment to many of you, but you’ll just have to wait for the chick pics.

This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Silence of the Dying.

  1. Urspo says:

    That was a lovely referral. Thank you
    I’ve known too many people who crawled away to die alone/quietly and apparently in shame.

    I for one don’t need any ‘chick pix’ but if you have some handsome blokes I won’t say no to them.

  2. river says:

    Sara Douglass eh? Off to google. I quite like medieval fantasy novels. But first I’ll read the link.

  3. libby says:

    gosh, what an amazing woman sara is, and her kitchen and garden are a dream come true! think I might follow this blog a while 🙂

  4. Marita says:

    Sara Douglass is one of my fav. authors. It is an amazing blog post.

  5. Ellen says:

    The Silence of the Dying is such a brave and powerful essay. Shortly after reading it I stumbled across a poem by Dylan Thomas – Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night. With two sick and elderly relatives in my family at the moment, it was a timely shift of perspective for me. What an amazing woman Sara Douglas is.

Don't be shy... say something!

