From the sublime to the ridiculous.

We were discussing names in our year 12 class for Identity and Belonging. I wrote my full name up on the board and talked about where it came from (the Frogdancers came over to England with the Norman invasion my dears) and then I put my kids’ names up and talked about the whys and wherefores of their names. Then we went around the room and the students shared what they knew about their names.

“I was named after Jane Austen’s ‘Emma’,” said Emma C.

A few kids later Melissa said, “My sister and me were named after characters in ‘Days Of Our Lives’.”

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to From the sublime to the ridiculous.

  1. saffronlie says:

    Names have also been a theme of my life this week. They came up in ordinary conversation a lot, as a c0lleague is expecting a new baby and needs name suggestions, and then I went to a lecture on names in medieval French romance. I love the stories behind names, no matter how ridiculous — and I’m sure there are much worse choices from soap operas than Melissa! Hehe.

  2. librarygirl says:

    I read somewhere recently that Bella and Edward and Jacob (Twilight) were very popular names at the moment!

  3. Sandi says:

    Gee, I’d love to be able to say I was named after a soap character. Instead, I get to tell people that, while Mom chose the spelling, my dad always liked the name Sandy. In fact, he had a pet cow by that name.

  4. frog says:

    I was reading a scholarly article this week and glanced done at the acknowledgments. It seems that Peverill Squire is a person and not a place.

  5. Sanna says:

    I had a friend in high school who was from China. Her parents wanted to give her and her brother Canadian names as well as Chinese names, but they weren’t familiar with our names. Their anglo names ended up from favourite chocolate bars – her brother from Oh Henry, and herself from Babe Ruth. Her mother did not know that ‘Babe Ruth’ was a man!

  6. Jayne says:

    I was named after an Aussie actress of the (my real) same name.

  7. andi says:

    Like sands through the hourglass …

  8. M says:

    Poor poor darlings. The soapie darlings. I guess it’s the same as all those Paris’ and Britneys. And thank heavens she is not Melisaah or Mellisser or some such abomination of spelling.

    I am, of course, jealous as I wan’t named after anyone or thing in particular.

  9. river says:

    I have no idea where my first name came from or why it was chosen, but I have two middle names, one from each grandma.

  10. Ellen says:

    I was chatting with a friend this week of told me about a guy she knew who named his daughter Amnesia – because he liked the sound of the word. Luckily for her she grew up to be both beautiful and brilliant.

  11. persiflage says:

    Oh Frogdancer, you are pushing all my buttons again, with discussions about names. Ruefully I acknowledge that you can’t please all the people all the time – and obviously some people do not even try to.
    Every so often I visit a blog about names bogans like, and also check the lists of the most popular names for babies. It is fascinating to watch the waves of fashion wash up on the shores of everyday life.

  12. My Mother tried to name her 2 daughters after Grace Kelly’s character in “High Society”. Dad wouldn’t let 2nd born me be named Samantha so you know what my older sister had already been named. Sis these days uses her 2nd name of Elizabeth, avoiding her 1st name like the plague!!!

  13. trashalou says:

    there is a chapter in ‘Freakonomics’ about the statistical impact of names on a child. When asked during the adolescent’s millionth appearance in juvenile court WHY she had named her child ‘Temptress’ the mother replied ‘She was named after an actress from the Cosby Show.’ When pointed out the name was actually ‘Tempestt’ she said it hadn’t worried her as she like the sound of ‘her version’. Apparently, until informed by the judge, she had no idea what ‘Temptress’ meant! And don’t even get me started on the man who named his 7th child ‘Winner’ and the 8th ‘Loser’!

  14. Urspo says:

    I was to be named Martha, after my grandmother.

  15. Marylee says:

    Are they transplants from America?

    Knew twins named Alpha and Omega. Daddy got the message.

Don't be shy... say something!

