Skinflint Sunday: Respect the time it took.

P6270137 by you.
First day of the holidays.
I have 2 new knitting patterns I want to make, a commissioned mobile phone sleeve to knit, a quilt top I really need to get cracking with for my niece and another couple of quilt tops I want to start sewing. Plus the house work. There’s also some walls and ceilings that need painting, along with some heavy duty weeding in the front yard.
But there are a couple of projects that are near completion. This knitted rug has been almost finished since the first craft camp.  It took months to knit, it kept me sane when I was going through a dreadful time of worry and even though it’s as garish as all get out I really should respect all the time and effort (and $$) I’ve already put into it and finish it. Just need to go around the outside with black and get some rubbery splurge stuff from Spotlight for the underside so it doesn’t slip and then I’ll be done.
Plus… and here’s where the Skinflint stuff comes into it… it takes an hour and a half each side… that’s 6 hours where I’m being frugal and using up what I’ve already got and I’m not out spending time and money on anything else.
p6270136
Besides, it’s a hell of a lot cheaper than getting the floor by the back door resanded!
This entry was posted in knitting, Skinflint. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: Respect the time it took.

  1. Hasn’t it felted feel. A cheerful mat, especially on grey winter days.

  2. Marita says:

    Pretty rug and like Michelle said it will be very cheerful on a grey winter day 🙂

  3. river says:

    Definitely cheaper than resanding the floor. And it will absorb wet footprints. Nice to look at too. Will it be washable once you put the sludgy stuff on it?

  4. kris says:

    It is great and will make that tired spot on the floor look amazing!

  5. Felted feel? – I meant felted well. I wonder whether the cavaliers or cats will claim it as a comfort spot first?

    Felted wool is so forgiving, I made myself a couple of felted pot mitts last year from some Perendale woollen yarn and they are the best and most forgiving I’ve used. Do enjoy your beautiful rug!

  6. kelly says:

    I love it and want to see it when it is in its “spot”

  7. Pixie says:

    gosh what a lot of hard work.well done.
    I remember when you started it!!

    Where abouts in spotlight do you get rubbery splurge stuff??I need some…..

  8. Kate says:

    Lovely. I don’t think it’s garish – certainly bright, but only in a ‘lovely way to be welcomed inside’ way.

  9. That will look great on the floor, and I admire your use-what-you-have attitude. It’s very country, I reckon!

  10. M says:

    That rug will look fabulous. Love a skin flint rug. Having just done a ‘use what you have’ project I know how satisfying it is!

Don't be shy... say something!

