A small moment.

I was teaching a double period today in a classroom with big internal windows looking out onto a corridor. The bell went for the end of the first period. My class was busily writing a story so they were silent. I was playing freecell doing important teacher work on the computer when I saw something out of the corner of my eye.

I looked towards the window, and there were Norby and Connor from my year 9 English class, obviously on their way from one class to another. They were waving at me and grinning like freaks. I waved back, then Norby gave a sign to me… a wave of the hand meaning “watch this.”

He turned, moving across the window as if he was on an escalator, steadily disappearing from view. The class and I appreciated it very much. He bobbed up, smiling, and received raptuous applause. He bowed and continued on to class.

I like my job. You never know what’s going to happen next.

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A small moment.

  1. mary says:

    That made me smile – thanks for sharing!

  2. river says:

    Ha Ha, my first husband and his brothers used to do that at parties. Enough beers and they’d all line up and go “escalating” down behind the couch.

  3. What a great “mind break” for the lot having the double English period, and what a happy “grin” moment for you. No wonder you’re so well liked by your pupils!

  4. Elisabeth says:

    What a nice storry to share.

  5. kris says:

    I liked this. I hope all teachers can have a moment like this. Makes me feel happier about sending my kid to school!

  6. libby says:

    those are good momments 🙂 the froglet has had some great teachers and the noisy one has one of them as her her yr 7 coordinator… this teacher is one of my favourites, she can have a laugh with her students and they respect her as a teacher.

Don't be shy... say something!

