Follow up post.

I loved some of the suggestions for Ryan3’s punishment! Some of you people are evil. It’s delightful.

Ryan3 came back from his Dad’s place with an armful of bike riding accessories for the Great Vic bike ride. He asked Tony to go shopping with him, so there’s now a lot of things that I don’t have to buy. He has a new helmet, some padded bike shorts, gloves, drink pouch and other things I can’t remember at the moment. I was rapt with him. So it was a real bugger that I had to start telling him off about not doing his share of the cleaning.

I said that there were suggestions on the blog, but that my idea was to confiscate his ipod for a week. (Ryan3 is addicted to his ipod, both for music and for games.) He said, “Fine!” in an annoyed tone and handed it straight over. (Evan4 was a little sad that he wasn’t going to get paid for his trouble, but we both knew Ryan3 was too much of a tightwad to agree to that. We’ll hold it in reserve in case we need it.)

All was fine until just before bed, when Evan4 sidled up to me and whispered, “Ryan3’s got the old mp3.”

This was a little player that my Mum found on the street years ago and Ryan3 used it until he got his ipod. I went straight to the bathroom where he was brushing his teeth before bed and sure enough…. there it was in his hand.

“Right!” I snarled. “Hand it over!”

“What? Why?” he said. “I’ve gone down from 1450 songs down to 42… isn’t that enough?”

He looked very downcast when he handed me the mp3. Hopefully his next zone will be sparkling clean… though maybe I’ll have to ban COD on the Playstation for that to happen.

***

After I wrote the post yesterday about Dennis the chicken, David2 got up and told me that Dennis escaped from his cage sometime in the night. David2 woke up, stretched, opened his eyes…. and was eyeball to eyeball with Dennis. ¬†Scared the living daylights out of him for a second.

This entry was posted in chickens, Children., cleaning. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Follow up post.

  1. Jayne says:

    A gentle reminder in his ear about “hope your zone is sparkling this week as I’d hate to have to ban you from Playstation or other things you enjoy so much” should be just enough of a hint of his punishment if he doesn’t pull his weight again.
    LOL @ Dennis the chooken!

  2. persiflage says:

    I don’t know how it is that parents can become so totally hard-hearted…..talk about the punishment fitting the crime and thus becoming a source of innocent merriment.
    Here’s to clean and tidy houses!

  3. river says:

    Eyeball to eyeball with a chicken within seconds of waking would scare the daylights out of me too.
    Good punishment choice for Ryan.

  4. Sandi says:

    I’m not a parent (and unlikely to ever be one), but I AM a research junkie. Your question had me searching the internet, and I came across a website that had some interesting ideas, if you’re looking for future possibilities.
    http://www.empoweringparents.com/How-to-Give-Kids-Consequences-That-Work.php#

  5. Mad Woman says:

    I love that Evan came and told you. I wonder if Ryan will figure out how you found out?

    I’d be scared too, if I came face to face with a chicken when I woke up!

  6. Scott says:

    Oh no – down to 42 songs! At his age all I had was Abba’s Super Trouper and Gimme Gimme Gimme a Man After Midnight.

  7. trash says:

    Oh! I did the Great Vic a couple of times a lifetime ago.

    CK says that eyeballing a chicken is bad enough but feels he can trump it with – waking up and having the resident border collie slurp a french kiss while CK was yawning!

Don't be shy... say something!

