God I love teaching!

Ten minutes ago I was in my year 12 English class, reading through Shakespeare’s Richard III. I assign students a part and they stumble through the lines and then we talk about what’s going on. (I’ve already shown them the movie so they have a handle on the story.)

We were up to Act 1 Scene 4, where the Duke of Clarence is walking in the Tower of London with his jailer. He says something along the lines of “Gee I had an awful night. My dreams were hideous. ” (But in Shakesperean elaborate language.)

The jailer says, “What was your dream? Tell me.”

The Duke of Clarence’s next speech runs on for 25 lines. chock full of imagery, metaphors and all things Elizabethan.

So Ben says, “What was your dream? Tell me.”

Bryn looks ahead, sighs, and says in character, “Look, I wouldn’t want to bore you with it.”

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to God I love teaching!

  1. Love it…!!!
    Lizzie
    xxx

  2. fairlie says:

    The abbreviated version…you’ve got to appreciate that!

  3. Stomper Girl says:

    That’s excellent. Listening to other people’s dreams is quite boring.

  4. river says:

    Love the ad-lib moments. They lend a whole new side to plays.

  5. kelly says:

    hahahahahaha. cut down on the discussion time, didn’t he?

  6. Ellen says:

    Classic! Typical teenage boy think – reminds me of my own 17yr old son who would rather be hauled over hot coals than waste a word.

  7. Jayne says:

    Readers Digest abridged style šŸ˜‰

Don't be shy... say something!

