An interlude.

I was sitting at the front of a year 8 class today while they were doing a Maths test. It’s a national competition thing, so all of the junior kids were sitting it.

About 15 minutes in, I glanced over at a kid sitting near the front. He was reading the novel that the kids had been told to bring in with them to read when they’d finished. I opened up my mouth to give him a gentle reprimand for not starting his test, when I saw that he’d already filled in all of the multiple choice answers on his sheet.

Either that kid was a Maths genius, (which I doubt) or he’d just filled in all of the answers willy-nilly to be able to read his book for an hour.

He’s a boy after my own heart. I closed my mouth, smiled at him and went back to what I was doing. It would have been the best Maths test he’d ever taken.

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to An interlude.

  1. mary says:

    he’s a boy after my own heart too..

  2. Jayne says:

    C’mon, don’t leave us hanging!
    What was the title of the book?

  3. river says:

    He’s a genius alright. Probably not with Maths though…

  4. Jenny Howden says:

    Froggie – that kid is a new Bill Gates in the making – I kid you not !

    I think both he AND Bill Gates have been taking lessons from ‘our’ Bertie – the smartest doggie in all the Whole Wide World !!

  5. Shula says:

    He’ll go a long way, that kid.

  6. frog says:

    Genius, indeed. And so lovely that you didn’t feel the need to say anything. I wish I’d had teachers like you.

  7. Marylee says:

    Love, love, love this.

  8. Marita says:

    I’m so there, would love to have been allowed to read a book during maths exams.

Don't be shy... say something!

