Murphy loves chickens #2.

DSCN0116 by you.

Remember Murphy? He’s my parents’ dog. He’s here again for 3 weeks while Mum and Dad are in Bali.

Yesterday Evan4 was home from school with a bad neck. He let the chooks out to free range at lunch time and brought the dogs in with him. Tom1 came home 3 hours later, helpfully opened the back door for them to go outside, then went and played his electric guitar very loudly for the next hour. Thus ignoring what I’d told them about supervision.

You guessed it. By the time I arrived home at 5.30 in the pouring rain, it was all over.

Our two white hens are dead. I went out in the twilight and the rain to put the gerls back in their coop. Buffy and Willow came running up to me, so I popped them in and started calling for the others. What I had taken to be a shirt that had blown off the line turned out to be a pile of sodden feathers with its head missing. The other one was by the coop. In the dark and pelting rain I hadn’t seen her. She was lying there, still alive, with the back of her neck and half her back gone. I think she must have tried to make it to the coop where she felt safe.

David2 did the deed for me. Unfortunately our little axe is very blunt so I don’t know how much of a mercy killing it could be classed as.

Mum takes Murphy for walks along Inverloch beach, where he chases brilliant white seagulls up and down the sand. He goes for walks in the park near her house where he chases ducks who fly away over to the island in the middle of the lake. I guess being near two plump white “seagulls” who wouldn’t fly away was too tempting.

This entry was posted in chickens, pets. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Murphy loves chickens #2.

  1. persiflage says:

    Oh how awful, those poor chooks!
    I suppose the young find it difficult to think things through and to consider possible consequences, but it makes me want to weep.

  2. Natalie says:

    Oh this is very sad.
    Nature is not always pretty to look at.
    *sigh*

  3. It’s bad enough when it’s a fox that leaves destruction in it’s wake, but when you have to look at the culprit (boy or dog) all night it’s harder still. Foxes and feral dogs are the reason we don’t keep chooks any more, too much heartache each time..!
    Lizzie
    xxx

  4. Pebbledash says:

    Oh I’m sorry. How horrible.

  5. Kate says:

    Oh, how distressing!

    Poor Murphy. He was just doing what he does. I hope Tom1 has learnt a lesson.

  6. maybaby says:

    Oh no. I guess Cavs still have the gamedog instinct somewhere in those little furry heads. My parents’ dog harbors a brutal hatred of all things avian. I’m sure he’d have reacted the same way.

    I’m so sorry!

  7. Darce says:

    Frogdancer, that is horrifying! 😦 You poor thing to have to deal with that scene.

  8. Jayne says:

    Oh, bugger, I’m so sorry to hear that 😦
    Hopefully the boys will all have learnt from it, getting some worth from the poor chooks’ demise.

  9. river says:

    This is so sad Froggie. And of course it’s totally useless punishing anyone, as you know.
    Will you be replacing the white hens?

  10. nicole says:

    Oh no 😦 I’m so sorry. Sometimes I wish life had an “undo” button.

  11. Jenny Howden says:

    Oh dear, Froggie – so sorry to see this. What do we say to Murphy ? He was after all, doing exactly what his natural instincts dictated – Cavaliers were bred to flush quail out of the thickets; one which I know finished off mama and papa quail and 4 little babies, all as hors doevres – and there were just 2 feathers left as evidence. And we both know (don’t we ?) the story of Polly, the best ever bird dog Cavalier – her record was 10 birds in 8 days – the ones which thought (?) they could tempt fate ! Polly didn’t actually kill ‘her’ birds, she brought them to me as ‘presents’, by which time they had usually died of fright !

  12. saffronlie says:

    No! I’m sorry. That is so sad.

  13. Ellen says:

    So sorry to hear that. Their little lives may have been short, but at least they knew freedom and were spared the horrors of the battery farm.

  14. Stomper Girl says:

    So awful. The animals can’t help it, it’s in their nature but I’m guessing Tom is feeling pretty rotten now.

  15. Amanda says:

    So sorry for this terrible thing to have happened to your little hens, but Murphy was being himself – a dog, an animal with inbuilt instincts.

  16. Oh Frogdancer, what an unpleasant homecoming for you at the end of a day’s teaching. Hopefully eldest son has now learnt something, and is making efforts to make up for it to you and D2.

  17. JokeIII says:

    I quote Glinda the Good Witch (as re. Eldest):

    “What have you learned?”

    Ouchies. Sorry for the carnage and heartache.

  18. mary says:

    Worse here than over at facebook – although I can tell that despite the obvious distress you are also trying to be fair to Murphy.

    Fuckity bugger it though..

  19. Jo says:

    So sorry to hear this, poor chickens!

  20. Elizabeth says:

    Poor Maggie, poor Martha. Lucky Buffy and especially Willow with the gammy leg. I hope the one who had to be put down hadn’t been there long. Poor you to have to deal with all of that. Hugs.

  21. Laura Jane says:

    Awwww, shit. What a bugger of a thing to happen.

    I bet everyone feels pretty crappy about it – but I doubt Murphy does. Its a dog’s life, eh?

  22. Marita says:

    😦 I’m sorry

  23. Urspo says:

    dear me
    I go away for a week and this happens.
    Dogs will be dogs, I suppose; but it does not help much to know this.

  24. Sanna says:

    damn.
    I was feeling all warm all over reading your more recent post.
    must not read posts in backwards order.

Don't be shy... say something!

