A follow-on from yesterday.

I really wish I could transport you all here right now.

The year 7s are in their second lesson of ‘The Good Wife’ writing excercise that I started yesterday. They are SO engaged with it.

When we came into the room, Lucy came up to me and said, “I can’t wait to get started on our story. I dreamed about it last night. You were the one who died.”

When I expressed mild dismay at being killed off like that, she said, “Well… actually we all died.”

She’s in the group of girls who are so fired up about their story that, not content with merely writing about it, they want to turn it into a play in our Drama lesson tomorrow.

A group of boys up the back grabbed me as I was doing my walk-around and said, “Our story’s the best!! We’ve got foreshadowing so that everyone’s going to think that the guy is going to die one way, but he really dies ANOTHER way…. and that’s foreshadowed too!!!!”

They were jumping around and wriggling with excitement at their own cleverness.

“Great, guys!” I said. “That’s exactly the sort of thing I want.”

The noise is deafening, but every group is on task. They are absolutely loving this. Tomorrow we read them aloud to the class.

Bell’s gone!

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A follow-on from yesterday.

  1. river says:

    I feel their enthusiasm coming through your words.

    I’ve never been good at the foreshadowing thing. Any tips? Is there a book I could study?
    Something on how to write short stories? I know there are plenty of those out there, but you’d recommend a good one….

  2. kris says:

    I am excited too! I read yesterday’s blog immediately after a discussion my daughter and I had about foreshadowing! So I had to get her to read it too. So exciting to “see” kids excited about writing! (My daughter is doing creative writing at uni)

  3. LynneFtWorth says:

    I can’t wait to hear what they come up with. I am going to read the link to the story on my break today.

    Well back to work.

  4. Ellen says:

    It was a great story- and had me glued to the end. It is always brilliant to hear of kids being fired-up when they are learning – there is nothing quite like death by eye-drops and the insistence of designer deaths by everyone’s favourite English teacher 🙂

Don't be shy... say something!

