Tuckered out.

photo

I’m tired.

Today I potted up over 100 veggie seedlings.

photo

David2 spent the day clearing out the veggie patch, then adding heaps of manure and compost to the soil. I don’t know why this font is so green.

photo

I decided that we wouldn’t plant the seedlings for a week or so, just in case the manure burnt the roots. But there were so many seedlings crammed in tiny pots. They needed to be able to stretch their legs/roots a little.

Turns out that I bought some bargains. One Roma tomato seedling punnet had 20 plants in it. The Cos lettuce had 27 plants. Not bad for $2.49 a punnet.


photo

This photo shows a mixture of the permanent herb pots and spring onion pots in terracotta. Down the bottom is a set of 6 seed pots that I planted basil seed in. I want to try and make pesto, so I used all 750 seeds. That should be enough, don’t you think? (Also, the plant to the far right in the red pot is a boysenberry I bought today. Now we have a blueberry, a black currant (because Ryan3 loves Ribena) and the boysenberry. Does anyone know where I can buy a raspberry? David2 craves one and I think it’s a harmless request.

photo

See the white planter? That’s the foam case that Mr Darcy (my sewing machine ) came in. As of today, it’s home to a punnet of spinach that I picked up for $1 because they were sad.

(I also picked up a broccoli plant for 20c because it was also sad. I figure 20c isn’t much of a risk.)

photo

We didn’t get to use this today. Maybe I’ll use it in the hen house to help make compost faster.

photo

I also bought two punnets of pumpkins, which in the spirit of experimentation I planted in the front garden. I put the Golden Nugget plants around the lillies.

photo

I planted the Butternut pumpkins near my bedroom window. The plant in the centre is the lone surviving onion that I plonked in there months ago and forgot about. It’s looking pretty perky, don’t you think?

Also in the soil at the front is a packet of California poppies that had on the packet “Plant by August 2009.” Oops. Rather than throw them out, I threw them in the ground instead and hastily covered them up. It’s an experiment. Maybe I’ll be greeted by a mass of cheery colour when I open my curtains in the mornings… or maybe not.

Snails live all over the place out in the front yard, so I’ve scattered snail bait everywhere. I’ve watered them in, so now they’re on their own!

photo

Meanwhile, the bamboo wind chime I brought back from our holiday in Bali in 2006 continues to hang from the rose bush by the front door.

I planted in seeds: watermelon, basil, brown onion, cabbage, poppy, pea, leek and brussels sprouts.

Seedlings: sweet corn, climbing bean, dwarf bean (because one shouldn’t discriminate), spinach, silver beet, Golden Nugget pumpkin, Butternut pumpkin, 2 x cucumber, 2 x zucchini, Roma tomato, butter lettuce, cos lettuce, broccoli, yellow tomato (mmmm), 2 x strawberry (different plants; another experiment), …. keep thinking I’m forgetting something…. probably am but who cares?

Fruit: 2 x strawberry (different plants; another experiment), lemon, nectarine, boysenberry, black currant and blueberry.

SURELY I’ll be able to feed the kids adequately with all this? (I nearly bought a cherry tree today. The only thing that stopped me was that the label didn’t say how big it’d grow.)

Someone stop me…

This entry was posted in gardening, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tuckered out.

  1. trash says:

    “Joel. Get off the plant table.” hahahahahahahahahahahaa (I crease myself up sometimes).

  2. librarygirl says:

    We have that same wind chime, bought it in Bright of all places!
    Love reading about al the vegies – pathetically I am very excited, being a garden tragic.
    I have a fabulous easy food processor pesto recipe if you want it I’ll email it to you.

  3. saffronlie says:

    Fantastic work. I’m sure you will reap many benefits! There’s nothing like pesto made from homegrown basil. I’m drooling just thinking about it…

  4. Jayne says:

    We’ve swapped to pot/container planting this year as the possums and chookens were having a free feed off our efforts.
    You’ve done well, good on you!
    Have the day off and indulge in a little light knitting 😛

  5. Pixie says:

    yikes………..
    Im tired just reading it all!!!

  6. river says:

    Wow! You’re going to have enough to feed an army! Of boys that is.

    I almost wasn’t going to bother this year, but all you internet gardeners have got me started.
    I’ve planted a couple of things…

  7. fifi says:

    WOW
    I’m VERY impressed.
    I was exactly the same when I bought this house. I created the best veggie patch. Well, I thought it was till I saw this one. LOL
    Unfortunately all the trees grew and now there is no sun 😦

  8. di says:

    Inspiring stuff! There is a great local gardening show on RRR on Sundays called Dirty Deeds- well worth a listen (I download the podcast, whcih can be frustratingly erratic in it’s publication). They are very much into experimenting- trying stuff out, seeing how it goes, and learning from there.
    Another idea for snails- crushed eggshells scattered on the ground around the seedlings are a good natural deterrent.

  9. Would you like a Job? I’ll set you on any day!

  10. Mamavee says:

    One of the many things I love about reading your blog is how our seasons are opposite… We just harvested the last of our squash and tomatoes and you are just planting yours.

  11. Mary says:

    That makes my three tomato plants, six lettuces and one basil look absolutely and completely pathetic!

  12. nicole says:

    I wish we had a garden that I could plant stuff in. We have a tiny bit of a green strip in the driveway but it’s not enough to grow pumpkins in.

    Like Mamavee I love watching all the Aussies start their gardening now when it’s starting to turn mucky and cold here. I get a bit of Spring delivered to my virtual doorstep 😀

  13. Elizabeth says:

    Try Bulleen Art & Garden for raspberries.

  14. shula says:

    how’d you keep the chooks off them when they’re free-ranging?

    Mine are like seedling-seeking missiles. If my seedlings aren’t under nets, they’re toast. Even under nets they’re sometimes toast.

Don't be shy... say something!

