Skinflint Sunday: the blind leading the blind.

photo

Three days work from the girls.

This morning (Sunday) I’m going to tutor a year 12 girl I’ve never met before. She goes to an exclusive Jewish school and her brother comes to our school. Her final ESL exam is on Thursday and she’s obviously panicking. Personally, I don’t know how much practical help I can give, maybe a few pointers in language analysis and some ideas for her writing context. I figure my job is to give her confidence more than anything. Still, the money I make working with her will come in handy when I take David2 to get the regrowth on his dreadlocks recrocheted. Money comes in; money goes out.

So there goes Sunday.

NEXT sunday will be different. A while ago I came across a gardening site for sustainable food growing. Here it is.

This site mentioned PODs… gardening groups that are based by suburb, where people get together once a month or so and share tips, swap seeds, do working bees, go on trips or do whatever they agree that their group is interested in. (I’m talking food gardening here, not anything kinky.) I was intrigued, so I emailed them and asked if there was a group near me I could join.

Sadly, not. But they emailed me 6 names of people who’d enquired in the last year and suggested that one or other of us contact the others and get something started.

‘Excellent!’ I thought, so I waited for someone to do just that.

Apparently we’re all a pack of pikers, so after a week of waiting I had a sudden rush of blood to the head and decided to contact them and test the water.

Next Sunday I’m having the first meeting of the Bentleigh POD at my place. (Can you imagine the feverish gardening/house cleaning that’ll be done this week?) I was going to be going to Craft camp that weekend, but had to cancel, so at least I’ll still be doing something reasonable creative with my time while everyone else is sewing/knitting/writing etc.

There’s four or five few people who’re coming, plus I’ll put something on the staff bulletin to see if anyone from work is interested as well. The more the merrier!

I think this could be quite good. I have some seeds and seedlings I’m planning to share, plus I’m positive that there’ll be people there who know a whole lot more than me. I like the idea of creating a community within a community with like-minded people. People who grow their own food and are willing to share their knowledge and expertise can do a lot to change the way we view our lives and the spaces around us.

If anyone in the area is interested in coming along, leave a comment or email me ( contact AT dancingwithfrogs DOT com) and I’ll get back to you with the details. It’s set for Sunday afternoon at 1pm, so hopefully it’ll be a fine day. David2 has been doing most of the work in the veggie garden to earn money for his trip to America, so he’ll be there too, kneeling at the feet of the older generations and learning from their wisdom. Or being my coffee making slave. Whatever.

It’s just the beginning of our growing season, so if this takes off it’ll be fun and productive at the same time. (Being a Virgo, combining these two things makes my heart sing!)

This entry was posted in balance, chickens, gardening, Quality of life, Skinflint, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: the blind leading the blind.

  1. Janet says:

    Sounds great! At our Friday night dinner in the parks, we’ve also started a sharing/swapsies table where you put down something from your garden and take something away. It’s great – this week I got half our vegie shop and week before last some seedlings and it’s motivated me to pot up something extra so I have something to put on the table. I love the economy of “free”.
    Perhaps you POD guys could also swap stuff?

  2. di says:

    Good luck with it!

  3. kris says:

    POD huh? Sounds excellent!

  4. Jayne says:

    Good on you, what a great idea!
    You could pot up some great planters as frugal food pressies for Xmas, too 😉

  5. Urspo says:

    I will be right over.

  6. river says:

    PODS sounds similar to the community gardens we have over here. A piece of land where volunteers go to garden, with each having a plot and planting whatever they want. Or the garden is laid out in plots and everyone pitches in. It’s mostly older retired folk who participate. Now and again they have open days with sausage sizzles, cake stalls and seedling sales too. There’s an open day coming up this next Sunday and I’m going along, because this is the very same garden that I donated all my potted trees and succulents to, because they got too much for me to handle.

Don't be shy... say something!

