Two teaching moments today.

1. Identical Twins.

I have a set of absolutely identical twins in my year 7 class. Lovely girls called Paris and Elle. In class Paris was being a bit loud and was turned around talking with someone, so I called her name, then when she turned around I cied out and covered my eyes, saying, “Turn back around! I’ve never seen anyone as hideous as you…” then of course I turned to look at Elle and shuddered as if I was in great pain.

Paris laughed, turned to Elle, pointed a finger at her and said, “Ha ha! You’re ugly!”

It looked like she was talking to her own reflection. Funniest thing I’ve seen in ages.

2. The sound of one hand clapping…

Year 9 English. I’d just broken the news to them that they’ll be writing an essay tomorrow morning. Julian made a most peculiar sound, like a mutant mammal giving birth. It was a bit annoying, so when Eleri started laughing her head off I glared at her and said icily, “In what way could that noise possibly be amusing?”

Still laughing, she said, “I’m sorry Miss. It sounded just like a giraffe… except that giraffes don’t make any sound.”

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Two teaching moments today.

  1. Jayne says:

    Bwahahahahahahahahaha
    Teen brain farts.
    They be good for giggles 😉

  2. Mary says:

    I don’t often laugh out loud at things I read but the giraffe comment cracked me up…thanks for sharing…

  3. fiveandtwo says:

    Hmm, I wonder if my ten-year-old identicals have encountered this. Nah, I don’t think so. They’re still in the realm of “which one are you” at school. I sympathise with the askers because I cannot tell them apart on the phone, or if they speak to me from another room (I have to clarify who I’m talking to). Knowing who I’m talking to when the back is to me is vastly easier now the length of hair is different.
    Apologies for this as-it-turns-out unrelated comment, but I feel better now I’ve said it: Even the mother can find it tricky to tell identical twins apart.

  4. fifi says:

    aren’t you glad you’re a teacher?
    LOL

    that was gorgeous.

  5. Scott says:

    That’s funny, you’ve gotta love ’em.

Don't be shy... say something!

