Much as I love teaching, at this time of year I love the holidays more.

We just had some good news! We had a staff briefing this morning at recess and one of the things we were briefed on was that the Victorian government has changed the dates of term 1 next year. Originally, the teachers were going back in the last week of January, but now ……………………………………………….. it’s the 1st of FEBRUARY!!!!!!

I get January all for myself! Just like the good old days when we had three terms.

(I am happy. Happy happy happy.)

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Much as I love teaching, at this time of year I love the holidays more.

  1. Jan says:

    I suppose you’ll miss out on the dreaded Term II from when we had just three terms. Am thinking of NSW here. Both as a student and a teacher, Term II was appalling. 15 weeks of winter, coughs, colds, sniffles and dreary days. When I started teaching, normal staff had to do extras for those absent. No relief staff around. That made the term even worse and I knew many who found themselves little hidey -holes to try to escape notice of extras.

    I do think that the current first term is a joke. Hardly back at school and it’s a break in a few weeks if Easter is early in March. Next year it’s late April, on Anzac Day.

  2. Good idea since Australia Day is on a Wednesday next year……wonder if SA has changed as well…….my kids (most of whom are teachers) will all be pleased to get a bit of extra time off.

  3. trash says:

    I still can’t believe we ever survived thise ridiculous Second Terms. We have a max of seven weeks at a time at school here in the UK and my kids are ropable by the time the holidays come around.

  4. river says:

    I remember school in the 60’s. Three terms and a lo-o-o-ng summer break. 8 weeks. School would finish 2 weeks before christmas, and resume at the beginning of February’s second week. Heaven!
    Although posibly not for the mums at home, dad’s at work didn’t seem to notice.

  5. Annie says:

    Is this real? You’re getting me all excited

  6. Mistress B says:

    Ah yes, the young fella was telling me about this… good, good stuff. 🙂

  7. Urspo says:

    fortunate woman !

  8. maybaby says:

    HUZZAH!!

Don't be shy... say something!

