Did you think I’d stopped making soap?

photo

Lavender soap. I’m very pleased with it.

This was the result of another experiment with rebatching. Remember the Rustic green balls of soap? I still had half of the original batch of soap left, plus a lot of Christmas present essential oils. It was time to play.

photo

I grated the soap like before and added it to the crockpot, but this time I added more water.

It glugged up. So I added more water. And more water. Then I lost patience and filled the crockpot with water and blended it, adding some colour and lavender essential oil at the end.

photo

I’m telling you, this was one liquid mix. I was pretty sure I’d mucked it up, but I poured it into the moulds anyway.

photo

Remember the chunks of plain soap I warned David2 not to eat? I dropped them into the mould after pouring, then I sprinkled the green spearmint leftovers from the Rustic Balls of Soap over the top, hoping they’d sink. Then I left the mix in the mould for 3 days.

photo

It took that long for the middle to be hard enough for me to take it out from the moulds. I finally found a site that told me how much essential oil to use per kg of soap batch, so 3 weeks after I made this soap, the smell is still divine. (My lemongrass and green tea soap is now just green tea, and the spearmint scent in the soap balls is now very subtle. You live and learn!)

There’s a foamy layer on the top of these bars of soap, with the colours mingled throughout. I’m very happy with how these have turned out. They’ll be ready for use (and sale, I guess) in a couple of weeks.

I’ve tried the olive oil and oatmeal soap (just love it) and I’m especially fond of the beeswax and honey soap.

One thing that happened when I was at Inverloch. I forgot to pack my moisturiser. I washed my face with the palm oil and poppy seed soap, then realised what I’d forgotten. You know how your skin normally feels tight and almost itchy if you forget to put on moisturiser? Well, I didn’t have that happen. I totally forgot about it until 5PM that day, when I realised that my skin had felt fine all day. It wasn’t something that I intentionally set out to prove, but I guess it’s true that the home-made soap DOES nourish the skin because the glycerine is left in! It’s not something I’m intending to live my life by…. I’ll still use moisturiser to keep my appearance youthful and dewy…. but I was amazed at how my skin felt after using just the pure vegetable soap for a day.

NowI move onto my next experiment:

photo

I really like the sound of goat milk and honey soap.

This entry was posted in soap making. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Did you think I’d stopped making soap?

  1. Mamavee says:

    So there are two things I’ve had on my list to do, in order to really earn my status as a bona fide granola hippie mama (or something like that) but I’ve been too scared to do. One is to get chickens, the other is to make my own soap. After reading your blog and seeing your lovely, beautiful chickens, I’ve decided to just enjoy them vicariously through you. However, watching your soap making escapades has inspired me, and I just might try. The lye thing still scares me, but I think when I can steal a kid-free day I’ll give it a go.

  2. Ayama says:

    I’d love to buy some of that soap if you are selling.

  3. Ellen says:

    What amazing looking soap – I love the photo of the ladle in all its glorious purpleness. Plus the finished soap looks just like a new invention from Willy Wonka’s Factory. The new combination of goat’s milk and honey sounds positively biblical.

    ps. At last the sugar thermometer has arrived and today is going to be ‘soap making day’ – wish me luck.

  4. Annie Jones says:

    I love the vivid color of the new soap. I’m curious if it will lighten as it cures and/or if the suds will have any color to them.

    My 7yo granddaughter (who lives with us) has eczema and since she’s been using our homemade soap, not once has she asked me to put lotion on her! It really is much better for your skin than commercial soap.

  5. Janet says:

    Your soap looks lovely! Especially the lavender one – it looks like some sort of confection.

    Although palm oil might be an ingredient to avoid, apparently palm oil plantations are taking over the habitat of the orangutans – things you learn when you go to the zoo a bit – http://www.zoo.org.au/PalmOil

    Also might just want to check if you need a permit to sell soap, I have heard it is classed as a cosmetic. But I could well be wrong there.

    I am a soap and water person from way back and think good quality soap is far better for your skin than most of the potions and lotions one can buy.

  6. Urspo says:

    I love this kind of soap; I am forever buying more of it.

  7. Lesley says:

    Cooee! Happy New Year!
    Soap looks good – like a sort of purple rocky road. I love love love hand-made soap. Rose geranium scnted – yummmmm.
    When Lily was little, I used to make all my own laundry soap as well, for washing her nappies. I can’t believe it now … cloth nappies AND all that work!

  8. Beet says:

    Looks great Froggy!

    I have dry skin and often get eczema but never when I use handmade soaps.

  9. libby says:

    oooh looks devine, i love home made soaps

  10. isabelle says:

    It does look lovely but I don’t understand how you manage to do all those things in the normal 24 hours. Do you have a twin who does all the boring stuff such as washing the kitchen floor?

    I had no idea that dreadlocks were painful. I am bewildered. Is it a rite of passage in Australia or something?? He looked lovely before! (Yes, I’m v-e-r-y old…)

Don't be shy... say something!

