The soap that defies gravity.

photo

I was cruising soap making videos on Youtube (as you do) and I saw one about whipped soaps… and how they float.

Evan4 and I thought that maybe the lavender soap might do this as it has a frothy layer on the top, so we cut a sliver off the end of one of the bars and investigated.

See how the middle still hasn’t quite dried out yet? I added a lot of water when I was rebatching.

photo

Look! It floats! Imagine how handy that would be when you’re bathing kids.

We then tested it for lathering properties:

photo

Works a treat. Smells really good too.

Then we threw it back in the sink to watch it float some more.

photo

There’s one of my hand knitted dishcloths at the side. Just call me Caroline Ingalls the second.

I was taking these photos for the blog, then we started to make dinner. It suddenly occurred to me that maybe I was about to make a huge fool of myself. What if ALL soaps floated? I’d have commenters telling me I was an idiot, which would be very demoralising. So Evan4 and I went into the bathroom, where we have some oatmeal/olive oil and some beeswax and honey soap, and we filled the basin. At the last minute Evan4 unearthed the last bar of supermarket soap that we have. We threw them in.

photo

They sank like stones. I suppose that mean I’m a genius.

(When I redid the bathroom 4 years ago I took out the bath to make room for a second toilet. We’re  a shower family, so that’s why I don’t know about sinkable soaps. Please don’t judge me…)

Incidentally, I’m now at the stage of trying out the soaps I’ve made so far. I’m liking all of them, with the ones in the above photo probably being my favourites. (Not the detergent-laden chemical-ridden supermarket soap… the other ones!) The poppy seeds in the second batch I made feel really good to shower with; like getting a back scratch all over.

My hands are not getting dry and flaky and the dogs’ coats are silkier. Even my children are getting slightly better looking as they use the soap on their faces.

(Well, ok… the last one is a lie. Nothing could make those trolls look better. I blame the genes on their father’s side.)

Today I want to make another batch, using some colours and different essential oils. I’m still a little scared of the goats milk and the emu oil I bought, so I’ll leave them be for a while longer.

I just love holidays!

This entry was posted in soap making. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The soap that defies gravity.

  1. Annie Jones says:

    How fun! I have to admit my first thought was, “You can’t use that soap yet; it’ll burn your hands!”. Then I remembered that you had rebatched it and the lye had already neutralized. Whew! You had me worried for a minute. 🙂

  2. Widget says:

    If it floats when you use it, do you end up floating away as well?

    Love the colours.

  3. Ayama says:

    Wow, you learn something new everyday. Enjoying all your soap and holiday adventures. Could you send some of your dry weather to QLD??

  4. Pixie says:

    floating soap??who knew??

  5. river says:

    Floating soap sounds like a great idea for kids, they could use it as bath toys and get clean at the same time.
    I’ve been using a vegetable oil based soap with no colours or scents for 15-20 years now. I still have dry skin, with legs especially being flaky and my hands look like they’re 70.

  6. monica says:

    well well well… who would have thought. My kids would love that…

    (what we need is soap that doesn’t get all gloopy WHEN left at the bottom of the bath… please?)

  7. Lorraine says:

    You are just having way too much fun with soap! Who knew it could be that much fun….and that’s what holidays are all about!

  8. libby says:

    wish we have smelliblog 🙂

  9. Scott says:

    I can just imagine you and Evan4 gazing into the sink. BTW to disinfect your dishcloths – microwave them wet for one minute on high.

  10. Kim says:

    That is so pretty, I love the purple! I can’t wait to visit your shop and buy it!

Don't be shy... say something!

