Yesterday I ran amok.

photo

You know how some days you just feel like being creative?

The above photo is the January block for the quilting bee I’m a member of. This had to be completed by the middle of the month and I kept putting it off and putting it off…. as you do. Well, as I obviously do.

In the end, I really enjoyed making it. Could have kept going and made more.

So much so that I grabbed all of the HSTs that I put together before Christmas and turned them into a queen sized quilt top. This quilt is HUGE and white. Hugely white. I think when I finish it I’ll scotch guard it, just to be on the safe side.

Then, after dinner, I made soap that looks like cupcakes. I’m really excited about these ones. They even have hundreds and thousands on the top.

THEN, I took some fabric that I bought ages go and boldly cut into it to make a quilt for me to read under. It has only 4 very large rectangles. Now I know how all those American quilters churn out quilt after quilt after quilt. There’s method to their madness, and that method is VERY LARGE BLOCKS. Thankfully, I woke up this morning and I still like what I’ve started. I’ve hung onto this fabric for almost a year, too scared to cut into it because I liked it so much and I wasn’t sure what to do with it. A combination of Ryan3 taking over the tv in the lounge room to play COD with his friends over the internet, Evan4 being on the computer and me running out of silicon cake moulds to make more soap forced me into production.

I really should see if I can replicate this situation more often; I’d get so much more done.

I wonder what I can do today?

This entry was posted in quilting, soap making. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yesterday I ran amok.

  1. persiflage says:

    Come up here. There are lots of things you could get organised and finished, if you run out of projects.
    How many quilts per person squared should be made?
    Unlike your immense productivity, I am stuck on my crochet pattern. I blame the way the instructions are written, but have more than a sneaking suspicion that the ageing brain may be the major contributor to the problem. Sigh. More unravelling. Is there an Unravelry site?
    HST? And are the hundreds and thousands real or soap?

  2. Jayne says:

    Nothing so creative here, except packets of vegie seeds bought lol.

  3. anne says:

    oooh cannot wait for more piccies of the soap and latest quilts…..not very productive here, just housework, housework, housework…..never ending. I think I should just say bugger it and quilt instead as not a sole notices if I clean or not.

  4. Ayama says:

    oooh, I love this block. it looks perfect for all those poofteenths of fabric i*cannot*throw*out because i 1)hoard and 2) don’t cope with waste. ohh. something to do in the 1.5 hrs before the grommit returns home. thanks. 😀

  5. river says:

    But where are the photos???
    The cupcake soaps?
    The whiter than white quilt?

  6. Beet says:

    wow You have been busy!

  7. maybaby says:

    You are so productive! Hooray for you!

    I’m in the hell of first week of the semester and already drowning in paperwork. I would rather be making soap…

  8. Amelia says:

    Large blocks – genius. I usually end up with fairly small blocks to piece together which gives me a nice look but the large block quilt I made for Jem was so beautifully graphic and quick to stitch. I haven’t managed to make anything that big since even though I have intended to. I always seem to start out small 🙂
    Beautiful block by the way!

Don't be shy... say something!

