Craft Camp #2

demotivational posters - MY SINK

Ryan3 rang on Sunday night at Craft camp.

“Mum, did you take any bowls with you?” he asked.

“Bowls?” I asked, puzzled. Why on earth would I take random crockery with me?”

I got home and David2 wandered out into the loungeroom to greet me.

“Hey, Mum, why’d you take all the bowls?”

I’m sure you all know what’s coming next. I stalked out to the kitchen and stood beside the sink full of dirty dishes. Without touching anything I counted, “One, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight bowls guys! And that’s without moving any of the big things on the top. I’m thinking that a couple of you need to do the dishes, because I’m not touching this.”

Then I went and stroked my lovely big patches made up of 2.5″ squares that I spent a day and a half on.

photo

I decided to make a quilt of scrap squares because I have far too much fabric and so I should use it up. 2.5″ squares are SURE to make a dent in the stash…

I was going to sew them together only if I finished everything else. They were my little insurance policy that I wouldn’t be left with nothing to do. But they’re somewhat addictive.

I finished the Reading quilt.

photo

If you look you can see my pink hair.

Then I basted this quilt that you see behind Janet.

photo

She also has the Sewjourn Concentration Face that we all wear. I had blurry shots of Kate as well, but they weren’t very flattering (to me, I mean, as the photographer) so I deleted them, never to see the light of day.

I also finished two blocks for the quilting bee I belong to.

photo

photo

Then I began sewing little squares in groups of 6. Over and over again. I worked out that I needed 225 strips of 6 to make a quilt, so I kept going until I had them.

Tedious, but a good job well done. Let’s ignore the fact that I should have been quilting the Monster Quilt Behind Janet. I told Kate and Stomper to keep me away from the addictive little 2.5″ squares. But no…. I heeded the siren call of the tiny and so the monster quilt is still weighing on my mind.

photo

Speaking of the tiny: Sue makes little dogs. These are the two that Eleanor bought. She also learned to crochet this weekend, so here she is, parading around like a Handcrafty supermodel with her first granny square.

photo

I think it’s a granny square. I don’t crochet…. if I add anything else to my repetoire I’ll be approaching burnout.

photo

See her face? This is why we go to Craft Camp.

photo

Thanks Janet and Suse for organising it.

This entry was posted in Children., friends, holidays, Quality of life, quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Craft Camp #2

  1. Stomper Girl says:

    I think its good to show the Finished Object Face as well as the Concentration Face.

  2. victoria says:

    The last photo of the massive sewing table is wonderful, love it. I’m so into the scrap squares quilt you’re making.

Don't be shy... say something!

