How to make a total stranger furious with you.

photo

This is the block I made for the March Quilting bee participant. It’s a wonky star block that she asked for. (Actually, she asked for two, but this is the main one.) Looks great, doesn’t it?

Unless you realise that she actually asked me to make a sand star on a red background….

It was all going ok. Well, sort of. I’d put off making this block for weeks because I just had a funny feeling about it. Then, after I realised that it was 2 weeks late, I dragged it out and looked up the tutorial on how to make them. Here it is. I cut all the squares and then blithely cut the red squares into triangles because…. well…. it just seemed so natural that the star would be red, I suppose. I instantly realised what I’d done, but there wasn’t enough fabric sent for me to recut the squares. I was committed.

That of course was the beginning of the end. Out of 4 pointy star blocks, I had to unpick and resew three. I kept on making the same mistake. Idiot.

Then I must have decided not to bore myself and so I made a different mistake. I sewed the plain blocks onto the ends of the blocks in the middle…. the ones that didn’t need anything sewed to them. Have a close look at this photo:

photo

See that line of stitch marks? She’ll know immediately that I was an idiot. There’s no covering up the shame of a seam put where it shouldn’t be. (It doesn’t matter, because the seam is exactly where she’ll be sewing the block into the quilt. It won’t ruin anything…. it’s just the shame. The Shame……………..)

Finally, about 1.5 hours of working on what should have been a half hour job, I started the little second block she requested. I waded in, flushed with enthusiasm. There’s no way I was going to make any mistakes this time! After all, hadn’t I finished the big block and it all ended up beautifully?

I mucked up the points again on the first block. Then it all went swimmingly…. until I tried to sew the first two rows together:

photo

The shriek I uttered wouldn’t have been out of place in the outer reaches of hell.

Could anyone POSSIBLY be this stupid?

photo

It’s a chunky little wonky star. It’s only 4.5″ square and it looks very cute.

But it really did my head in….

This entry was posted in quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How to make a total stranger furious with you.

  1. Jayne says:

    That is…..um……interesting!
    I’m sure you can salvage it somehow.

  2. Beet says:

    oh I’m sure I could do worse 😉 lol

  3. river says:

    It’s still better than anything I could do.

  4. jacqui says:

    I am sure it will hold a special place in her heart when she reads about all the love that went in to it !! ha ha

  5. Amelia says:

    🙂 You’ve just captured in photos what most of my sewing sessions look like. I have a little rule that when I make 3 of those mistakes it’s time to pack up and put everything away. At least now I know I am not alone!
    And that wonky star? Adorable!

Don't be shy... say something!

