Skinflint Sunday: Waste Not, Want Not.

photo

A couple of days ago I harvested another lot of heritage cherry tomatoes. I decided to dry these ones out and make a jar of sundried tomatoes. But in the dehydrator, because that’s just the way I roll.

photo

Here they are after a couple of days of drying. I probably cut them too thickly, but now I know for next time! I just popped them in an empty Golden Syrup jar with some granulised garlic and olive oil.

Then I looked in the fridge and saw 4 dozen eggs, 2 lemons and 2 limes. I remembered that someone on the Simple Savings forum had suggested to me that I make Rhonda’s lemon butter recipe to use up some eggs, so I decided to do it. I love lemon butter but since Evan4 went off the weirdly glowing yellow sort that I used to buy for him, I haven’t had any. That’d be years…

photo
Once I’d broken the 8 eggs I knew I was committed. I juiced the lemons and realised I had a slight problem. The recipe calls for 1 cup of lemon juice. I only had 1/2 cup. So I dragged out the limes. That brought it to 2/3 of a cup.
Great. I dragged out some oranges that had been in the fridge far too long, but they were only good for the bin. (That doesn’t fit too well into the title of this post, does it? Forget I mentioned them.)
I was about to jump into the car and race down to the fruit shop when I had a brilliant idea. My next door neighbours have a lemon tree that’s taller than their house. Despite me having brought free bread to them every Tuesday evening for the last 10 years, they’ve never offered me so much as a squeeze of lemon. (I even asked once and nothing eventuated.) I thought I’d give it one last try. I went next door, woke up their teenage daughter who’d obviously had a rough night and she went and picked me 4 lemons.
photo
“Come any time and get some,” she said. “We don’t use them; they just rot on the ground.”
I have no comment about the 10 years of organic lemons I’ve missed out on….
ANYWAY, moving on! I cooked the lemon butter, but made a bit of a mess when it came time to pour it out.
photo
My double boiler has a very wide neck. Fortunately I still had the jars on the tray I’d sterilised them on in the oven, so the lemon butter stayed reasonably contained.
I poured as best I could, then decided to grab a spoon and see what it tasted like.
photo
OMG!!!
I didn’t pick up the tray and lick it clean but it was a close-run thing. This lemon butter is SO delicious. I can’t wait till Evan4 gets back from his Dad’s so he can try it.
This entry was posted in cooking, Skinflint. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: Waste Not, Want Not.

  1. Widget says:

    Get the lemons and make lemon cordial and lemon scented soap!

    That butter looks amazing!

  2. bec says:

    YUM! I would have run my finger over the try, licking it clean ‘the polite way’ haha. The extra bit of lime must have made it extra tasty too! Yummy on bread….

  3. Ellen says:

    What a delicious post! Your dehumidifier has definitely come into its own – those tomatoes are going to taste de(vine). But what a criminal waste of all those lemons! In the good old days when my hens were laying I used up excess eggs in lemon curd (it looks like the same thing as your lemon butter). Enjoy the fruits of your labour.

  4. river says:

    Pedantically speaking it’s actually lemon-lime butter….unless you put the orange juice in? Then it’s citrus butter. And I suspect a lot more yummy than thestuff you buy in supermarkets.
    As for the mess..you need a funnel!
    What is that beautifully butterfully butter stuff? A brand of butter that I’ve never seen or heard of. Where did you get it? I love that name.

  5. river says:

    @Ellen; lemon curd and lemon butter are different because lemon curd doesn’t contain butter.

  6. paige says:

    That looks simply delicious…and I’m off to Google “lemon butter”…

  7. Sanna says:

    Remember next time to add a lime…
    I am so loving reading about your urban farming!

Don't be shy... say something!

