Why I’ve been so quiet lately.

I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately. An awful lot of reading, thinking and planning.

This post by Sharon Astyk is like a summary.

This entry was posted in balance, chickens, cooking, dehydrating food, gardening, Quality of life, reading, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why I’ve been so quiet lately.

  1. Annie Jones says:

    Interesting things to think about. I would say I’m weakest in the preserving department.

  2. Bev says:

    Sharon is always good value. I’ve learned a lot from her.

  3. Urspo says:

    reading is never a waste.

  4. Ellen says:

    Enjoy the quiet time.

  5. paige says:

    I grew up, like any other good Southern girl, canning.

    Now I freeze things and I’ve been looking at dehydrators. And a bigger freezer so that I can go in with another family and get a whole cow from the local organic supplier. And chickens. I would rather buy them ready for the freezer if we’re going to eat them. That’s a little too diy for me.
    The US Dept. of Agriculture just put out a map which locates “food deserts” and most rural areas in the US are classed as “deserts”, which is ridiculous. Most of us have gardens, and we hunt game and my county has two organic meat producers (probably more). We have *great* food options.

  6. fiveandtwo says:

    I’m a fan of Sharon Astyk’s blog and books. Always practical, always something to think about regarding the wider world.

Don't be shy... say something!

