First job of the weekend done.

photo

Here’s this weekend’s experiment… dehydrating carrots! I know how to live life on the edge, baby!

Every Saturday that the boys are at their dad’s I empty out the fridge and dry the apples that are left. Usually the kids bring home a bag or two of apples from their father’s shop and so I need to use up what’s not eaten. Long term readers of this blog will know that due to child support issues, I absolutely HATE to waste anything that they boys bring home from their dad’s. I freeze, stew and dry anything that we haven’t managed to get through.

I’ve been drying apples since I bought the dehydrator, but as I’m the only one that eats them they’ve been mounting up, until I had the brilliant idea of taking a jar of them to work and keeping them at my desk to nibble on. I rarely eat fruit unless it’s cut up for me so this has been a great way to use the apples and make me healthier. With the added bonus of giving me a sugar hit so the Caramello bears for sale in the staffroom aren’t enticing me with their siren call.

Last week when I did an Aldi shop carrots were on special for 99c a bag. I bought 3 bags, forgetting that we already had 2 or 3 bags in the fridge. Depending on how this experiment goes, the excess will be either dried, or grated and frozen.

And just to finish off, here’s a shot of Molly in the dog bed that Evan4 rigged up for her using a towel and his bathrobe.

photo

Apparently she looked cold on her regular dog bed.

This entry was posted in dehydrating food, pets. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First job of the weekend done.

  1. Rhu says:

    Goodness, my heart skipped a beat when I saw the dog in the box. I just watched Skipper bury Curry (the chook) and must have been somewhat distracted! Glad she was just cold!

  2. Urspo says:

    I often ‘skim’ an entry before reading it to get a gist of what it will be. Imagine my emotional connection you are about to dry out the pooch like the food!

  3. Ellen says:

    Wow! you have been busy. The dehydrator will be a great way to store the leftover fruit and veg for the winter. That way your freezer won’t be cluttered up when you stumble across those more expensive meaty bargains, and you can snap them up . Hope the solar panels will save you heaps.

  4. Scott says:

    Dried carrots. I wish I was there to try some.
    People must miss me at work with my giant bag of Fantales.

Don't be shy... say something!

