Monday afternoon.

Today I have a year 8 class. They’re a lovely group; very sharp and funny as well.

I walked into the class and they trailed in behind me. It’s a lovely afternoon, all sunny and bright and the portable classroom is warm for once. I put my computer and books down on the desk and turned to face the class, hopping up onto the table to sit on it like I usually do.

Facing me were two little boys, La’El and Daniel. Daniel is as cute as a button, with a chubby face and smiling brown eyes. They were wearing paper hats on their heads that they’d made out of lined paper.

“We’re pirates Miss!” said Daniel proudly.

For some reason that struck me as hilarious. I laughed so much I nearly fell off the table. Dan and La’El beamed, while the rest of the class decided that was the signal to relax. Took me half the lesson to get them to focus on their grammar work.

The plan for the double period was to corect the last two grammar units for the term, then to use the rest of period 5 to revise. Period 6 (in 5 minutes) is when they sit the test.

I looked up to see Dan sitting with his grammar book over the top of his head, like a hat. I looked at him, eyebrows raised.

“I’m absorbing the information, Miss,” he said.

I love my job!

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monday afternoon.

  1. Ellen says:

    That made me laugh out loud over my breakfast. With a lateral mind like that, young Dan will go far.

  2. That made me smile. I don’t know if I could survive teaching kids that age, funny though they may be at times.
    I wonder if Daniel’s method would work with some of my slightly “denser” Year 11s
    I might try it.

  3. fifi says:

    Dan obviously understands the concept of osmosis…

  4. Urspo says:

    you can nickname him “Paper towels ” !

  5. river says:

    Ha Ha Love it!

Don't be shy... say something!

