Oh dear.

Fairlie asked yesterday how the Drama and Dance excursion to ‘Rock of Ages’ went.

Ummmm…. “interesting”.

We took around 40 year 9 students of around 14 or 15 years of age to see a musical. We had some spare tickets so the year 12 Drama kids came too, along with David2 and Ryan3 and an assortment of other teachers and parents who’d helped with the school production. Evan4 is one of my year 9 Drama students, so it was quite the family excursion, with only Tom1 missing, doing exam prep in the library. A nice jolly afternoon was envisaged with the kiddies enjoying some rollicking good showtunes, then going home to write a review. Couldn’t be better!

The teacher who booked the show is a young guy who had a friend on the cast, and he’d arranged for the cast to come out and meet the kids after the show. The kids couldn’t believe it and were so excited, getting autographs and taking photos. The show is advertised as an 80’s rock extravaganza, with all of the big hits of the era. That was true. The singing and dancing was fantastic.

We could’ve done without the raunch factor though….

The lights went down for Act 1. There we were, sitting among 50 or so students who we were responsible for. In the first 5 minutes there was pole dancing, a guy talking (and moving) incredibly suggestively and a scantily dressed lass licking a phallic shaped icypole with a red tip. Apparently when that happened the teacher who booked the tickets shrank down in his seat, sending up a prayer of, “PG….PG….PG….”

His prayer went unanswered. By the time the sex scene in the mens toilet stall arrived, (which was actually really funny…. I laughed and cringed at the same time), I was resigned to almost anything. What else could go wrong?

The lap dancing scene, the oral sex scene and the bit where the llama went down on a guy, that’s what.

Don’t get me wrong…. it was a very funny and entertaining show and the music was fantastic. There was lots to like about it… there were some very athletic young men among the cast. But even I, as one of the teachers, wasn’t very happy to have my sons sitting in the audience, though they were most appreciative of the costuming and choreography.

Great show for adults. Just don’t bring your young children with you.

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Oh dear.

  1. nicole says:

    Oh oh oh, I’m laughing so hard right now! But wow… You’ll probably have some upset parents coming up and wanting a chat…

    Makes for excellent blogging though, doesn’t it?
    Also, their Website does say “Something for everyone” I guess they weren’t just talking about the songs 😉

  2. Frogdancer says:

    Nicole, you made me laugh!

  3. Lara says:

    Hmmm, when I read that you were taking the school kids I thought “oh my goodness” because I saw it a few weeks ago and the raunch factor was huge! I’d originally planned on taking my EIGHT year old with me because I thought she’d love the music – luckily a colleague saw it a few days before I did and let me know that it wouldn’t be appropriate (so I took my husband instead). The music and dancing was fun, but the storyline and misogyny – not so much. Not the 80s that I remember, but then again, I wasn’t a rock star….

  4. river says:

    Better leave the country before the parents come after you!

    Was it opening night? or could you have asked people who’d already seen it what it was like?

  5. kelgurl says:

    “…..a teachable moment”?
    good luck with the fallout

  6. Fairlie says:

    Woah! Thanks for the heads up…

    I won’t be taking my girls to it. I think I would enjoy it though…I’ll just cover my eyes for the raunch scenes.

    Any parental objections so far??

  7. Sharyn says:

    When I read your post yesterday I cringed and laughed especially the teacher prayers bit. Read it again today and still think it’s hilarious…

  8. Widget says:

    I missed this when I was absent on Monday….I am laughing very, VERY hard!!!! I think this might be a pineapple for the organiser!!!!

    and I am thinking the name ‘”rock” of ages’ is an interesting title….

Don't be shy... say something!

