Year 9 Exams

Evan4 has just finished his first ‘proper’ round of exams. Yesterday was Geography.

“There was this one question, ” he said. “It was asking about Alice Springs, talking about the climate in the middle of Australia and asking when tourists would most like to come for a holiday. I answered that it would depend on what sort of weather each tourist would prefer…. some people like heat and humidity, others like a dry heat, other don’t mind a bit of rain. Personally, I’d like a dry heat so I’d go during our winter. Then I said it was a silly question.”

I hope his teacher has a sense of humor.

This entry was posted in Children.. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Year 9 Exams

  1. nicole says:

    Sounds like pretty sensible answer to me.

    I nearly failed geography in year ten (my last year of middleschool, so the exams were finals), I had to go back for oral exams. Oops.

  2. persiflage says:

    Good for Evan4. I hope the exam was not really about statistical analysis of tourist numbers according to climate.

  3. river says:

    I think that’s an excellent answer. A+

  4. trash says:

    I think his answer is spot-on. One Yr. 9 (veggie) maths paper I had posed a question about travelling from Ballart to Melbourne by train at a certain time, speed of blah, blah, blah.

    Rather than give the teacher a tranche of numbers I pointed out that particular train ALWAYS stopped outside Bacchus Marsh for 10 minutes and so the times she had included were completely erroneous.

    That teacher didn’t like me.

  5. paige says:

    OH! I am laughing so hard here. That’s a teacher’s kid, for sure.

  6. And that’s precisely the kind of answer I wish I’d had the courage to write down at his age (or any age). I tended to be paralysed by questions whose assumptions depended on mind reading or were erroneous. I mean, really!

  7. Good answer, and it probably was a silly question. The only time we went to Alice Springs it was freezing, literally. They had their first frost ever, and all the localnative peoples were bundled up in anything theycould get. it looked like a remake of the “night of the living dead”

Don't be shy... say something!

