Skinflint Sunday: Patience is a virtue.

But first – a video!

Yesterday I finally attacked those olives that I brought home from work.

photo

The recipe Adrian gave me is as follows:
1. Wash olives. Rinse. Pick out the damaged and bruised ones.
2. Boil sufficient water.
3. Allow water to cool.
4. Dissolve salt into water. Lots of salt.
5. Lots and lots of salt – sufficient salt to allow an uncooked egg in its shell to float just off the surface of the pot.
6. Put olives in container.
7. Cover with the water. Take the egg out first.
8. Cover with olive oil.
9. Container must be airtight.
10. Leave for around three months.

photo

I cleared a shelf in the laundry cupboard because no one goes in there but me so they’ll remain undisturbed until the September school holidays. Adrian and his wife made olives like this once before and he said they were beautiful, so I hope it works as well for us.

This entry was posted in cooking, Just for fun., recipe, Skinflint. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: Patience is a virtue.

  1. Jayne says:

    Ahhh, I’ve often wondered if there was an easy way to ‘do’ olives at home.
    Good luck!

  2. river says:

    I’m laughing at how specific this recipe is.
    “Take the egg out first”
    Ha Ha

  3. fifi says:

    That cat is unbelievable!

    I have given up on olives: I’ve had then now for 15 years and I have never been able to manage to brine them for eating without some disaster, such as mould, or whatever. Too much work.
    Nowadays all my kalamatas get pecked by birds or tasted by possums, and the branches are so tall I can hardly reach them. Still, I love them as trees so very much, and love bring in in branches of the beautiful leaves. I hope you manage to get the olive process right more than I did!

    (there is also a method of salting them and tipping off the sludge which is quite good as long as you remeber to tip off the sludge every other day and so on. Beyond my popcorn brain obviously!)

  4. Ellen says:

    Good luck with the olives. I agree with Fifi that there is something special about olive trees, they are so gnarled and ancient looking. I wish we could grow them here.

Don't be shy... say something!

