A trick on the teacher.

The last two periods of the semester for my year 8s are going to be spent reading. I want them to read the novel for next term by the end of the holidays, so a couple of periods will give it a real push along. (Plus it’s a nice quiet way for me to finish the term.)

Today, period one, I had 8E. About half a dozen boys had “forgotten” to bring their books. I yelled at them and then sent them all to the library to borrow a proper novel to read.

Ten minutes later the room was quiet. I was reading ‘The Permaculture Home Garden’ and the class was reading ‘Falling From Grace’ or a wide reading novel if they’d already read it. The door opened and the boys walked back in.

Every single one of them had borrowed a copy of a ‘Where’s Wally?’ picture book. I was enraged. I opened up my mouth and began to let rip, when they grinned and pulled out their novels from behind the ‘Where’s Wally’ books.

We all laughed. The boys were delighted with their own cleverness.

“It was Will’s idea, Miss,” said one of them.

“Well played Will,” I said. “Well played.” He smiled modestly and shuffled his feet a bit.

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A trick on the teacher.

  1. river says:

    The Permaculture Home Garden!! I LOVE that book.
    Also love “You Can Have Your Permaculture and Eat It Too”, by ?;
    and “Backyard Self-Sufficiency” by Jackie French.
    Great trick by the boys.

  2. You could have said “Nice one Will”
    “Detention”
    And smiled evilly.

  3. Scott says:

    Ah – Silent Reading – the teacher’s coma.

Don't be shy... say something!

