What’s happening in the garden.

photo

When gardening with a friend who prunes your lemon verbena and you take a few cuttings to grow more, don’t leave said cuttings for nearly a week in a glass of water before you plant them. Two have died and one is hanging on by the skin of its teeth. (If it had any.)

photo

Maybe the single cutting will survive. It’s near the basil in the kitchen which is still going great guns. Last week I made a lasagne and had a layer of silver beet from the school’s vegie garden, along with a layer of whole basil leaves from my plants on the bench. OMG! The basil hit in every mouthful was fantastic.

photo

I’ve been looking everywhere for a Satsuma plum tree. My Gran used to LOVE these plums and she planted a tree at Inverloch so she could have them, then went away every winter up to Kurramine Beach near Cairns so didn’t really get the benefit. She passed the Satsuma love onto me, but it wasn’t until yesterday that I finally tracked one down. So I bought a Mariposa as well, because it needs a pollinator. I was chatting with the nice man at the nursery and he gave me 10% off the plum trees, so I was happy with that.

photo

They’re bare rooted, so I’m just keeping them happy in the pot until I work out where I want them. The nice man from the nursery said that they were probably two years old… they’re HUGE! I bet David2 can’t wait till I hand him a spade and tell him to start digging! I also bought some more apples. I want a row of 4 or 5 Ballerina apples on the south fence in the right hand vegie garden, where they won’t shade anything else and I can grow beans up them as living trellises. I bought these two Ballerina apples a couple of days ago. We already have one planted but I lost the label for it so I’m ALMOST sure it’s a Flamenco. Anyway, I bought two other ones, being pretty sure that they’re different from last year’s model.

Then yesterday when I went shopping I came across some other Ballerinas. I couldn’t quite remember the names of the ones I bought two days before so I had to make a guess. I’m still too scared to go and check the labels to make sure I haven’t doubled up. I think I’m ok though. One’s called ‘Charlotte’, which is all very Bronte. David2 was helping me carry all of these trees out of the car and when I referred to the tree as Charlotte he said, “Oh God Mum! Don’t start naming them!”

(By the way Scott: Speaking of Charlotte Bronte; I started reading ‘Villette’, which was one of the books you gave me when you left. I got half way through and had to stop. It was so BORING!!! All of that feminine resignation and patience. She was driving me up the wall. I wanted to slap her. If only she’d had a Bunnings store nearby! It would have made all the difference to her 19th Century Governess life.)

I also bought a dwarf Pink Lady apple. It was a BARGAIN.

photo

When I bought the dwarf Granny Smith last year I ummed and arred about whether to get that or a Pink Lady. I decided on the Granny Smith because hey! They’re my favourites. But the kids whinged and complained about my choice, so when I was at Bunnings yesterday and saw fruit trees for $26, I picked up the Pink Lady to have a think about it. On my travels through the nursery section I saw that one of the branches was broken. Plus it’s a wonky shape. So I put it down and abandoned it to its fate. It was only when I was chatting to a Bunnings Lady, mentioned the tree and she said, “If it’s damaged I can mark it down” that I realised I could be onto a bit of a winner. So I only paid $20 for my wonky apple tree.

I thought the kids would be delighted. But they didn’t care. I was crushed.

photo

Once I got home from my trip to Bunnings and the Plum tree nursery I rang Blogless Sandy. She’s caught the food gardening bug and she’d mentioned that she was looking for grape vines. The nursery had them, so back we went. While I was there with her I bought a cranberry, a lemongrass and a gojiberry. As you do. The cranberry is the small-leafed thing cascading over the side of the wicking bed. I think it’ll be nice to have some more fresh berries. Apparently the gojiberries are full of antioxidents and other molecules of youth and vitality, so I’m looking forward to being dewy and lissome while everyone around me falls into decay and despair.

photo

This is the driveway on the other side of the gate. I’m ordering more wicking beds today!!!

Speaking of wicking beds, here’s the two little ones we put together a few weeks ago.

photo

Everything’s still alive in the leek and cauliflower one, though the caulie on the left looks like it’s on its last legs. (If it had any.)

photo

The second one  with the far more advanced red caulie seedlings is looking good. I’m not watering them from above now and they haven’t keeled over yet, so the wicking system must be working. The cranberry said that it likes a lot of moisture, so it’s earmarked for a wicking bed. I think it’ll work quite well.

photo

The silverbeet plants that my neighbours gave me have finally decided that living a few doors up agrees with them..

photo

The cabbages, caulies and brussels sprouts are going gangbusters.

photo

Look! Peas!

photo

I’ve decided to plant some potted colour in the vegie garden to attract the bees. Hopefully there’ll be even more peas soon!

photo

The bean plant that decided to grow after I pulled the mother plant out is now at the top of the teepee. I wasn’t sure it’d survive but the frosts haven’t killed it yet. There’s the 4th planting of peas just starting to emerge at the bottom.

photo

And finally here are the girls lurking behind the pomegranate tree. Can you see them? They want some more bread scraps. They’re giving us between 2 – 4 eggs a day, which I think is pretty good considering it’s winter.

Well, it’s 11AM and I’m still in my pjs. I’m going to race off and wake the boys and then get a few things done before Dr Phil comes on at 12. (Shut up! Don’t judge me! Dr Phil is my holiday guilty pleasure.)

This entry was posted in chickens, Fruit trees, gardening, vegetables, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What’s happening in the garden.

  1. Bev says:

    Everything is looking REALLY good! I hadn’t thought of a cranberry in a wicking box…mine died in the garden…maybe I’ll get another one and try again.

    I wish you luck with the gojiberry. I grew dozens from seed (just buy a packet in the supermarket and extract the seeds) and planted lots in various parts of the garden, but none survived. Not even in a pot with lots of tlc could I get one to survive!

    Oh, and the Lemon Verbena….don’t bother about cuttings now. They die back over winter and won’t want to grow roots. Try again when they’re growing strongly in summer…cuttings will root in about a week then.

    Dr Phil????? Omigod! I won’t comment!

  2. Widget says:

    good to see I am not the only one in my pjs at 11am. At least I did get dressed by midday but I didn’t watch dr phil. enjoy!

  3. river says:

    What Bev said about the Lemon Verbena.
    I miss my fruit trees but they were too big for me to handle, needed repotting etc, and I know they’re being looked after where they are now. I had those same plum trees, so yummy! Also a granny smith apple and a stella cherry. It’s a self pollinator so I only needed one. The cherries were amazing! Large, crisp, sweet and juicy.
    Your greens all look really healthy and happy.

  4. Sanna says:

    Your garden sounds amazing and almost exotic to this northerner.

  5. Shane says:

    That garden is looking fantastic, and so much neater than when those tomatoes went rougue!

  6. ken stevens says:

    Great stuff. Just got a strelitzia at long last. Not been so excited for ages!

  7. Katrina says:

    Oh wow that just looks amazing, all that action in the fruit and veg section and it just looks fantastic

Don't be shy... say something!

