Yesterday David2 planted 5 apple trees.

photo

It was a shockingly cold day yesterday, with gale-force winds and plummeting temperatures. But in between the rain showers, after Dr Phil had finished, we went outside and planted 4 Ballerina apples and 1 dwarf Pink Lady apple.

He looks so much like his father in this photo… Sssshhh… don’t tell him…. He also looks a bit like my brother too, which is strange because those two guys don’t look anything like each other. Apart from both being male humans.


photo

Now he just looks like himself again.

We put the Ballerinas up against the south fence, where they’ll get all the sun and won’t shade anything else out. Naturally there were a couple of tree stumps in exactly the wrong place, so one of them ended up in the left-hand vegie bad as a companion for the Ballerina apple we planted last year. Just the olive and the 2 plums to go!

photo

A while ago I placed an order with Diggers. I went in with Mick, who’s a member, and because we bought so much we got two free plants. He kept the pomegranate and I chose the comfrey. Here it is. Fine, lusty looking specimen, isn’t it?

photo

Speaking of lusty looking specimens, remember the rhubarb I was given when I went to the garden tour which snapped in half while I was driving home? It’s now shooting another leaf.

Isn’t life grand?

This entry was posted in Fruit trees, gardening, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Yesterday David2 planted 5 apple trees.

  1. Joh says:

    Frogdancer, you are a total inspiration. Wow! Your gardening is amazing. You are my self sufficiency guru:).

  2. Sanna says:

    I was really confused about your “cranberry tree” you mentioned earlier… and had to look it up. Apparently it is related to honeysuckle and has nothing to do with cranberries. But I am still jealous of your pomegranate tree.
    Are you sure your yard is big enough for this orchard?!

  3. Urspo says:

    Alas, it is the primal scream of all young lads they will grow up to become their fathers.

    And they do !

  4. persiflage says:

    So many apple trees! I have never eaten a Ballerina, but love the Gala and the Pink Lady. Is it still essential to spray against codlin moth?
    The rhubarb looks determined to succeed.

  5. river says:

    Rhubarb and Comfrey are both very hardy. And comfrey is very very good as a compost addition.
    let me know when the apples are ready for picking…I’ll sneak over with a bucket, you’ll never even notice.

  6. Bev says:

    The chooks will love the comfrey and it’ll be sooooo good for them.

    What Sanna said….I thought a cranberry was a cranberry was a cranberry. Must look that up, too.

  7. Dorothy says:

    i don’t garden or quilt or teach but I love your blog. If I read about your adventures, it’s almost like I have done them myself…right?

Don't be shy... say something!

