New recipe

I was cruising around on the Simple Savings forum a couple of days ago when I came across this recipe from Kallie:
Chickpea and Sweet Potato/Kumera curry in the slow cooker.
1 onion – finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, crushed
2 – 4 tsp curry powder/paste
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp coriander
1 tbsp crushed ginger
1/2 tsp chopped chilli
2 tbsp tomato paste
200g dried chickpeas (1 generous cup) washed and drained (I added the whole 350g pack. I’m feeding a lot of hungry men-sized beings here.)
700g kumera/sweet potato – peeled and diced into 3 cm cubes (It took 2 sweet potatoes to reach this weight.)
4 1/2 cups boiling vegetable stock

preheat the slow cooker for 20 mins

place onion, garlic, curry powder or paste, cumin, coriander, ginger, chilli, tomato paste and chickpeas in the slow cooker. Stir well to combine

layer diced kumara over these ingredients and gently pour the boiling vegetable stock overthe top – taking care that the diced kumara stays on top and that the chickpeas are submerged

cover with lid and cook on high for 7 hours

top each serving with a spoonful of plain yoghurt and garnish with fresh basil leaves Serve with warm naan bread.

Just a side note: I’ve always added a bit more liquid to make it to our liking – somewhere between 3/4 – 1 cup 🙂

****************
Guess what I’ve just popped into the slow cooker?
I’m rapt because I used a pack of dried chickpeas that has been sitting in the pantry since I don’t know how long; 2 free sweet potatoes that the boys brought back home with them after their last Boys’ Weekend at their Dad’s; vegie stock cubes that, like the chickpeas, had been sitting there looking bored and unloved and a chilli that Simon from work gave me that I froze. (Incidentally… freezing whole chillies is fantastic! You just take one out when you need it, chop it up frozen and throw it into whatever you’re cooking. Just don’t scratch your eyes immediately afterwards like I did last night.) Evan4 made another batch of gingerbread last night so there was very little ginger left in the bottle. It’s safe to say that I used every skerrick of ginger I could… making even this part of the meal very ‘waste not want not’.
All in all, a VERY economical meal. I’ll just serve it on top of rice with fresh basil leaves on top from my kitchen basil plants. I’m really looking forward to it.
This entry was posted in recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New recipe

  1. Katrina says:

    Wow I never thought of freezing the chilli’s – my fresh ones have run out and there was several packets really cheap at the supermarket that I grabbed – now I know what to do

Don't be shy... say something!

