My ESLs make me laugh.

We’re studying ‘Twelve Angry Men’ in year 12 ESL, which is a play about a jury’s deliberations in a murder case. We’ve seen the Henry Fonda movie, we’ve read through the play and we’re halfway through seeing the made-for-tv movie with Jack Lemmon as Juror #8. Today’s lesson was just about answering some comprehension questions.

Razi asked if in Australia murder trials are decided by judges only or if juries were involved. When I said that juries were integral, he was very disturbed.

“I don’t think that a good idea at all!” he said.

“So the whole of Australia is wrong and you’re right, is that it?” I said, laughing.

“It wouldn’t be the first time,” he said.

****

Brian is another of my ESLs, a Korean boy who is petrified today because tonight is Parent/Teacher night and his father is coming. Brian’s fairly relaxed about his studies, which clearly doesn’t go down well with his parents.

“I was going to hide the Parent/Teacher envelope but my Mum got to the mail before I did,” he said in class yesterday.

“What are you going to do when your Dad comes home, Brian?” Stefi asked.

“I don’t know… I think I’ll run away to the library,” he said.

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My ESLs make me laugh.

  1. persiflage says:

    Twelve Angry Men was a great movie. Some years ago I was on a jury for a murder trial. Although we could not agree on a verdict, and thus were discharged, it was a very positive and absorbing experience. We all worked well together, had no abusive or unpleasant exchanges, and worked through all the evidence repeatedly. And I made a very good friend from that jury. It took seven weeks of my life, and confirmed my opinion that the jury system is, overall, excellent. The verdict of the later trial confirmed my own verdict.

  2. river says:

    I would be completely useless on a jury. I’m too easily influenced by others opinions.

Don't be shy... say something!

