Spring is here! Better get busy.

Most years it rains just as this azalea is starting to bloom so the flowers rot. But every so often the rains hold off and we get this stunning display. this is one of the original plants in the garden.

Yesterday afternoon I finished off the wicking beds. I had compost delivered and flled them up. However, I think the gardening place was a trifle over-generous with their compost.

I still have at least half left.

I used some to pot up a few things:

1. The lavender. (Thanks to everyone who commented.)

2. The oca that Bev gave me. The large pot has four tubers in it and the little one has three. It’ll be interesting to see how much/if any we grow.

3. Another rosemary. We love this, especially on roast veggies, so I’ve decided one plant just isn’t enough.

As soon as all the digging for the water tank was finished, I planted the lemonade, Bacon and Orange trees in the chook pen. It already has the massive Mystery Tree in it that gives the gerls shade, but there’s one corner towards the back that still gets sunlight. I’ve crammed them all in there, hoping that the fertiliser they’ll be getting all year from the chooks will offset the minimal amount of sun they’ll get.


The potatoes are growing. Later on today before it rains I’ll put a few bucketsful of the compost over them.

I planted my cabbages, brussels sprouts, brocolli and caulies far too late (April) and some are already bolting. (Doesn’t really matter… the chooks love them.) However. a couple of my brussels sprouts are doing the right thing.

After I took that shot I turned around and took a photo of what was behind me. Lotsa cabbage.

The blueberries are reviving from their winter coma.

Remember the tiny rhubarb I was given when we went to the food forest tour? Look at it now!

Just got to decide where I want it to go…

I think there might be something wrong with the sage in the wicking bed. See the white dots? Anyone know what it could be?

But the lemon balm is loving it. I picked some leaves and made tea with them yesterday in one of my breaks from wheelbarrowing compost. It was really nice. (Maybe I need more than one plant…?)

I have a problem. Here’s one plum tree; the satsuma. It’s doing really well.

The other plum that I bought at the same time, at the same nursery, to be a pollinator for the satsuma is doing Nothing. I’m not sure if it’s dead.

But the sunflower seeds that I fished out from the chicken food and planted around the bases of the plum trees have started to come up. Most exciting.

My front yard needs weeding badly. Or rather, it badly needs weeding. In fact, any level of weeding would be great. But I love the freesias so much that I really don’t want to disturb them while they’re flowering.

This entry was posted in Fruit trees, gardening, vegetables, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Spring is here! Better get busy.

  1. Sandi says:

    Oh, spring! We’re wrapping up summer here (I wish it would go away already, it’s been miserably hot and humid), so I love seeing all of your plants just getting started. By the way, the stuff on the sage looks like powdery mildew, and it will spread to other plants if you don’t get it under control quickly. It wiped out my sunflowers and tomatoes one year.

  2. Jayne says:

    Love the freesias, their perfume is so lovely 🙂
    Leave the plum a bit longer, might be a later starter than the other type.
    The wicking beds look great 🙂

  3. Catherine says:

    My cabbages are doing well too but like you to cauliflower and broccoli aren’t…sigh. I agree with Sandi – It looks like powdery mildew. From the Gardening Australia website I found this fungicide…”This organic fungicide is particularly useful on soft leaf vegetables. Use 2 litres of water, and a drop of vegetable oil, which helps to fix the spray to the leaf when it’s dried. A drop of detergent helps to spread the mix over the leaf. Then add the active ingredient – bicarbonate of soda. Put in two teaspoons per litre. The bicarbonate of soda makes the leaf surface alkaline and this inhibits the germination of fungal spores. Use it on tomatoes, and Chinese celery. The Royal Botanic Gardens in Sydney has found this to be effective on powdery mildew, rust and black spot on roses. So oil, detergent and bi-carb is all you need for a great preventative fungicide.” And just cause I’m doing the right thing here is the direct link…..lol.. http://www.abc.net.au/gardening/stories/s1484689.htm
    Worth a try and at least you’re only using bicarb soda and other gentle stuff. Hope this helps.

    Ohh and the lemon balm. Trust me one plant is all you will need. Once it gets going it will be everywhere and if you let it run to seed you will have little plants popping up all over the garden.

  4. Bev says:

    Your questions; my answers:

    The sage looks like it has spots of mould growth on it. Sage loves a hot dry spot. I wouldn’t put it in a wicking bed…too wet.

    Lemon Balm is great. Don’t get another plant. It will self seed everywhere and you’ll be weeding them out. Also it’s a no-no in a wicking bed…it spreads like mint & takes over. You’ll be pulling it out of there too.

    Prune off a couple of branches of the dead-looking plum. If the wood is green, it’s OK; if it’s dry and hard, it’s dead.

    (Isn’t it great to have a commenter who’s already made all the mistakes!)

    But just to cheer you up…everything looks great! 🙂

  5. Ellen says:

    Spring really has sprung is your garden. The contrast of the cerese azalia with the silver leafed plant next to it is stunning and those lovely freesias shriek Spring – that would be a good enough reason for me not to touch the weeding.

    I planted two new rhubarb plants last spring and was advised not to pick any stalks at all during the first year, to pick very moderately in the second year and then by the third year they should be well established, but not to pick after mid-summer’s day. Fussy little plants.

  6. river says:

    Bev answered all your questions with just the words I would have used. Move the sage. Break off the affected leaves and burn or bin them. Do NOT put them in the compost. Add a sage leaf next time you make lemon balm tea. or to any other tea you make. I had two plum trees and one always got started about a month before the other.

  7. Maria says:

    Ditto on the mildew. Too wet there in the bed.
    Also the lemon balm. One plant is more than enough. I planted one about ten years ago and now have plants all over my yard and in every garden!

Don't be shy... say something!

