This morning.

My water tank works!!!

I woke up at 5.30 this morning to the sound of rain on the roof. At 6.15 I was out in the yard, watching the rain drip into the downpipe from the top of the garage, then I climbed the ladder I’d left leaning against the side of the tank and watched the rain drip from the pipe into the actual tank.

I heard it too. A gurgly, drippy, echoey sound like water dripping down into a deep well. It sounded amazing; all spooky and moist. I would’ve stayed there longer, just listening, but I hate getting rained on and it was a bit nippy out there.

Very happy. Thanks Mick!

This entry was posted in gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This morning.

  1. Bev says:

    It’s a lovely sound, isn’t it? I lay awake last night listening to the rain. My tank is right by the bedroom window, so I can hear the water running in. It needed about 10 mm to top up the tank and we got 8 mm. So another couple of mm and it’ll be full. I like to start the summer growing season with a full tank .

    You’ll have to rig up a clear plastic hose so you can see how much is in it. You’ll see what I’ve done when you visit.

  2. Catherine says:

    Doing the happy dance for you. We have had wind (lots of it), clouds and a brief shower of rain and that’s it. Hope you get enough rain to fill your tank, water your garden and to keep you going though summer.

  3. river says:

    We’ve had rain here too, but sadly, I have no tank. I did move the pots to where they could catch some of the water, especially the roses, they’re quite dry because the pots are too small. They dry out too quickly.

  4. paige says:

    I thought about your tank during the last week while my part of the US was utterly innundated by the remnants of Hurricane Irene. I did find myself wondering if we’d had a tank…if all that rain would have burst the poor thing during the worst of the deluge.

    Still, we’d probably have filled it up to use during the next few months of dry spell before the November rainy season.

  5. It might have been 3 days late – but what a glorious birthday present!. The 6th was my sister’s birthday too – she celebrating her 50th birthday by sharing a long weekend in Berlin with her partner. Coo – she’s been based in London for 25 years.

    Hope all your fruit trees do well, along with the wicking plots and chooks this Springtime, Michelle and Zebby Cat (once more testing our/his bed for snoozability, bless him)

Don't be shy... say something!

