There’s something so sweet…

… about only having two days of term left and knowing that all of your corrections are done. Tomorrow I have to take David2 to Northcote for a seminar on his year 12 subject that he’s doing by correspondence so I’ll be popping into CERES. Then Friday it’ll be a rollicking downwards slide into the sweet sweet pool of the holidays.

On Sunday the gardening club took a drive into the (almost) country to foodnstuff’s place. What a fabulous time we had! How I wished I hadn’t forgotten my camera!

She has a 2.5 acre block on the outskirts of town that is mainly taken up with rejuvenated bush, but she’s also been nurturing quite an extensive food forest as well. There was so much to see and learn. I got wildly excited when I saw how she uses wire to make circular garden beds, which solves the problem I had anout how to make affordable yet effective garden beds where my back lawn is. She also harvests every drop of rainwater, either in tanks or in a system that filters it down into three very large ponds at the rear of the property. She’s about to leap into the marvellous world of chickens and she’s already an expert in the mysterious world of compost. We learned so much. It was fantastic. The only thing I didn’t like were the mozzies.
P1010144

September is the month of birthdays in the Frogdancer household. Pictured above is my 18 year old (gulp!) My “baby” is now 15, while I have advanced slightly in years as well, while still remaining youthful and dewy.

David2 wanted a party to mark the occasion. At first he thought he’d like to take his friends paintballing, but in Victoris you have to be 18 to be a participant and David2 is the oldest one in his year level. (I did suggest that he could race around the track all by himself, firing off the paint gun while his friends watched, but he didn’t think that was a very good idea.)

We ended up hiring out the little room at the top of a local pizza parlor and he and 20 friends had a gathering there. Our house is really not set up to be a party house… too small and poky… so this was the perfect solution. The owner of the pizza place was slightly leery when I said it was an 18th, so David2 had to solemnly swear that there’d be no alcohol consumed on the premises. He made sure to emphasise to the kids that the owner would be in trouble if anyone did the wrong thing, so for the first half of the night it was all as pure as a child’s birthday party should be. Then they went to a friend’s place to drink. (I have the “teacher” thing going on, which is apparently slightly inhibiling to under-age drinkers. What a shame.) His friends are such nice kids. When they were going up to the room, I was at the bottom of the stairs to make sure that no one tried to gate-crash. Yes, I was the Door Bitch. After they’d been there for an hour or so I ordered their pizzas, oredered a take away meal for Ryan3 and I and headed upstairs to say goodbye to them and to check that all was well. I walked in and they were all sitting down at long tables, eating their meal.

“Thank you Ms Frogdancer!”

“Thanks for doing this!”

It was really nice. The young whippersnappers of today are just beautiful.

Speaking of young whippersnappers, Tom1 was interviewed on local radio this morning about his music. He spoke for around 20 minutes and then performed a song he wrote. He did really well. It was strange hearing his voice coming out of the radio, though.

Roll on the holidays!!!

This entry was posted in Children., friends, gardening, work. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There’s something so sweet…

  1. Bev says:

    Thanks for the nice write-up. I’ll speak severely to the mozzies next time.

  2. Ellen says:

    Congratulations to David on his 18th Birthday – sounds like a good time was had by all. And happy holidays to you. Enjoy!!!

  3. Katrina says:

    Tell me more about the garden beds……and sounds like it was a good interview then….always good when local radio takes an interest

Don't be shy... say something!

