Urgent query.

P1010141

My freezer can’t be saved.
The men from the “fixit” place took it away, then rang me yesterday to say that they don’t make the parts for it any more. (It’s only 6 years old!!! grrrr) So they’re dumping delivering it back to me… with a bill of nearly $200 for their time and trouble. I really hate the thought of wasting that money, especially if I then have to pay someone else to take it to the tip. I still have to buy another freezer, after all.

My query is this: Does anyone have good reasons as to why/why not I could turn this into a pond? Or a worm farm? Are there any compelling reasons for or against?

HELP!!!

This entry was posted in gardening, Quality of life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Urgent query.

  1. Sandi says:

    Reason against: Chemicals. I imagine after a while, the tubes would become damaged and could release the coolant into the ground. Probably not real good for the plants. Or the people.

  2. Bev says:

    I know there are lots of things people have done with old fridges/freezers, but I’d need to do a bit of Googling. Regarding Sandi’s comment re chemicals, firstly, what is the coolant and is it toxic and why couldn’t the bits at the back and the motor be removed first and disposed of so you just have the shell to use?

    I wouldn’t be in a hurry to get rid of it especially if you have to pay tip fees.

    I’ll have a think about it.

  3. Scott says:

    Reason against: ugly.
    You could save it for another five or six decades and be buried in it! Can you imagine? LOL!

  4. Katrina says:

    I like Scott’s idea, was going for a cardboard box but may this a better idea….have seen pics on various blogs of people using them as garden beds etc….seen them used in sheds as storage….

  5. Ellen says:

    (Scott – please turn away now.)

    How about using it as a raised bed at the very back of a border. After getting rid of any nasty chemically type substances, you could cover the exposed sides with a very sticky, fast drying cement, which could be decorated with pebbles/shells and nice, rounded, large stones around the top. If a few pots were to be placed around it and its happy inhabitants start to spill over the edges, no one would guess …..

  6. trash says:

    Google ‘Bob Flowerdew’ – he uses loads of old wjhite goods in his organic garden. He is a gardening hero in the UK.

  7. persiflage says:

    I think I’d just give it a farewell and dispose of it ASAP. I think gardens look better without white goods.

  8. Ellen says:

    …..or you could paint the outside of the raised bed with a nice cerulean blue, exterior metal paint ….or am I getting carried away now?

  9. victoria says:

    Chemicals aside, I find the idea of it becoming a pond highly entertaining.

  10. molly says:

    You could turn it into a cellar for storing excess vegies?

Don't be shy... say something!

