DSCN0206

Here’s how our house used to look, before I had the ugly fake brick cladding removed. Here’s how the car used to look, before I broke it.

Yes. I totalled the car on Sunday night. Just a stupid accident… a moment’s inattention while going around a tiny roundabout, glancing at some carrot seed that tipped over as the car was moving to the left, then all of a sudden there’s a parked car in a very dark spot under a tree in the way. I swerved, but hit it with my left headlight. My bonnet crumpled like a crumply thing. No one was hurt, but my car was a write off.

(Those carrot seeds better germinate. Bloody expensive little crop…)

The guy who owned the car was really horrible about it. Carried on and on about it, which at first I could understand, but after 15 minutes of it I had to ask him to back off. How many times can I admit that it was totally my fault and apologise? He called the police to have me breathalised; (oh, he was determined to teach me a lesson!) and the police were singularly unimpressed to be called out to breathalise someone who was under the limit. They informed him that police aren’t usually called out for car accidents where no one was hurt. He shut up after that. Funnily enough, even though he was declaring that I was “driving around half-pissed” he was more than happy to get into my car with me driving to go and get my license.

That’s when we found out that my car couldn’t be driven. Tom1 raced over with my license, as it happened only two streets away.

It’s sad, because my car was the first thing I bought when I started working again. I’d had 4 years of being a SAHM with the boys, living hand to mouth while Tony played every stupid child support shenanigan under the sun. I was driving a very old Torago that was as aerodynamic as a loaf of bread, whose radio would go off the station every time I turned left and whose sunroof leaked. When I began doing CRT (Emergency teaching) I borrowed 18K and bought a three year old car. It was shiny, beautiful and a symbol that we were on our way. It’s been so reliable over the last 8 years and the plan was to keep it for as long as I could. Poor car!

My insurance company is giving me nearly 6K, which isn’t bad considering it was 11 years old. At firsat I thought I would do as I did before… get a “near-new” vehicle and have it for a long time.

Then I started to think.

I worked my proverbial off to pay 22K (or was it 24? Can’t remember) off the mortgage principal last year. If I bought a 20K car again, it’d negate all that hard work. And I REALLY want to be debt free. I was happy enough to keep driving my 11 year old car, so why not continue to do so? So this is the plan:

Whatever my insurance company gives me is my budget. I don’t mind kicking in a little extra for a RWC, rego and insurance because I’d be paying for those things anyway. I’m looking for another large station wagon, as I have musos for sons who like to cart guitars and keyboards everywhere. Besides, station wagons are handy. I’m looking at or around a 2000 car, though a year or two younger (or even older if it has low mileage) is ok. I don’t care what colour it is.

One of my friends from work rang me yesterday after she saw my “Car totalled” status on FB. Turns out her husband has a business where he buys cars and boats from the auction houses and resells them. He offers a 12 month warranty, but for me he said he’d offer a 2 or 3 year warranty, so long as I agree to have it serviced by a reputable mechanic every 6 months. He’s looking today at what will be sold next week and he’ll give me a call if there’s anything likely.

I think it’s a good way to go. I think I’m more likely to get a good car this way… after all the last thing Dierdre wants is to hear me come into the staffroom of a morning and say, “I had to walk to work. AGAIN.”

And just to show that while some things change; others remain the same:
P1010164

and

P1010165

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to

  1. Dee says:

    PMSL about those toilet rolls.

    Good to hear you were undamaged in the accident.

  2. persiflage says:

    What a way to have to reflect about all those temps perdus. What rotten luck and what a bastard that guy was. Male bully! Your solution sounds pretty good. Well thought through!
    Perhaps I could send you some cumquat marmalade as a tiny consolation?

  3. Bev says:

    What a bugger! Very sorry to hear the news. Hope it all works out for you.

    Those tiny roundabouts in equally tiny local streets are a real pain. Hard to get a big station wagon around the darn things. I had a Ford wagon up until 6 months ago, but I admit they are very handy for all the big stuff one buys at Bunnings.

  4. Widget says:

    I’d forgotten how much work youve done on the house! Great reminder.

  5. Jayne says:

    Damn glad to hear you were ok, what a mongrel that guy sounded like.
    It must be the universe’s way of telling you there’s a good ‘un out there waiting for you.
    LOL@ the loo rolls.

  6. Jenny @ Erinport says:

    Oh dear Froggie……so sorry to hear about your car, but glad you are okay.

    You know I worked in the vehicle industry for yonks, so………….please make sure that whatever you get………and from whom ever you get it…….you get a legitimate Roadworthy Certificate………….and arrange the insurance cover before you take delivery.

    The bona fides of whoever does the RWC can be checked by going to VicRoads (phone or web-site) and asking to verify their LMCT number.

    Oh……….and the usual thing applies…………if it seems too good to be true, IT ALWAYS IS !!!!!

    Best wishes 🙂

  7. Catherine says:

    Sorry to hear about the car but I’m glad you are ok. The other driver sounds like a real pain in the rear. Your solution sounds like a good one though.

  8. river says:

    So glad to hear you’re okay!
    This got me thinking about cars in general and station wagons from when I was a kid. Those things were tough! A little ding like you had would have broken a headlight maybe, but certainly wouldn’t have crumpled the car to the point it couldn’t be driven. It’s a shame cars these days aren’t as tough.

  9. Jenb says:

    We just went through almost the exact same thing. Though it was my 17 year old son that bumped the car in front of him. We went through the same decision process and ended up buying almost a duplicate of the 2002 car that we had. We were happy with it before and we are happy with it once again.

  10. victoria says:

    That sucks, I hope it all works out well with a replacement car.

Don't be shy... say something!

