The Inverloch quilt.

My goodness this one took a long time! It’s huge too… 90″ X 90″ (229cm X 229cm)

I bought a couple of sets of assorted hand-dyed batik charm squares from Malka back in 2008 because I love the way she uses fabric saturated in colour, then they sat in the stash until just after Christmas last year. I’d made the Sister Quilts and I was still in love with HSTs. Then I saw this pattern.

I adapted the pattern to fit the larger size of my triangles, which meant that this quilt grew to be the size of a Queen bed quilt. This wasn’t what I wanted but one has to cut one’s quilt to fit one’s cloth. We went to Inverloch for a holiday in the late part of the summer, where I pieced the top. My brother-in-law came up as well, bringing his two girls and we brought along David2’s mate Dan. As luck would have it, when I was putting the whole quilt together, I chose fabrics from the stash that symbolise that holiday.


This “girly” fabric covers most of the back.

There’s a strip of brown fabric that comes from Dan’s quilt that I made for him a couple of years ago, and I used some car fabric on the binding. I did a lot of driving that holiday. David2 forgot his medication, so I had to drive back to Melbourne to get it, then drive back straight away. I made it back before three of the boys even made it out of bed!

Hence, the “Inverloch” quilt.

Then I went to Craft Camp in March and used the big table there to baste this beast. Then it sat unregarded and untouched until now.

I’m a “finisher”. It’s rare that I leave things uncompleted, though now that I’ve said that I have unpleasant memories of a hand sewn quilt top that i haven’t touched for about 3 years.

I also completed the September block of the ‘Oh Beehave!” quilting bee.

She wanted an effect of a block within a block, so this is my interpretation. I hope she likes it.

Now on with the Teddy Bear quilt! Only a week of holidays to go…

This entry was posted in quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Inverloch quilt.

  1. Jayne says:

    I love that quilt, it screams spring/summer with it’s fresh, crfisp colours and patterns, definitely Inverloch!

  2. anne says:

    Awesome quilt but sadly the free pattern has now been taken off…..boohoo boohoo. Love it and great quilting too.

  3. Urspo says:

    you inspire me to someday finish my first ‘real’ quilt, which sits half done in a box.

  4. Bev says:

    They’re really beautiful! Such a lot of work. Is that all done by hand or machine?

  5. victoria says:

    You must be so pleased. I love how it’s named after a holiday/place/set of memories, wonderful.

  6. Ellen says:

    I love the freshness of the colours and how great that you could quilt in some holiday memories too.

Don't be shy... say something!

