The Teddy Bear Quilt.


The last time I was at Craft Camp I started sewing 2.5″ squares together. Completely at random… the only rule was that I couldn’t have 2 of the same fabric side by side.

Then I sewed them together in bigger blocks, with the only rule being that 2 squares of the same fabric couldn’t be side by side or up and down. (Diagonal was fine.) There’s teddy bears sprinkled throughout this quilt, hence the name.

Then it sat, languishing, while I waited for inspiration to finish the Inverloch quilt. (It was ahead of the teddy bear quilt in the queue.)

I’m pretty sure this quilt has fabric from every quilt I’ve ever made.

After we took the first photo we brought it inside and I gazed fondly at it. I spent the last day of the holidays single-mindedly getting this project finished. (It was supposed to be housework day… but oh well!)

Often I make quilts thinking they’ll be for me and then I give them away. For example, the Inverloch quilt walked out of here yesterday, a birthday present to my mother.

But this one is staying right where it is. Weird, how a simple design of small squares can look so effective.

This entry was posted in quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Teddy Bear Quilt.

  1. Sandi says:

    Nice job. The Inverloch quilt is gorgeous, too – you definitely need to keep this one for yourself!

  2. Annie says:

    I just love it! And loved seeing the 9 patch in the background too. Happy day to you. I MUST get out of bed!

  3. persiflage says:

    It is lovely. Beats housework hands down.

  4. Mary says:

    This is one of my favourites of yours so far.

  5. It is lovely.

    I also love quilts that have little bits of all the other quilts you have made in them.

    That reminds me, I have to finish quilting my strip quilt, which serves the same purpose.

  6. I love the quilt.
    It’s made for wrapping up babies and toddlers.
    Imagine the stories they’ll make from all of the little images, and the memories of safe, warm, security that they’ll carry into the future.

    Absolutely Lovely.

    Well Done.

  7. Bev says:

    Beautiful; so much better than anything you could buy.

    I’m awestruck at how you can grow veggies, quilt, teach school and run around after 4 teenagers; all in a day’s work. I presume you eat and sleep, but couldn’t imagine when.

  8. river says:

    2.5 inch squares? Good grief! You’re so talented getting them all to line up nice and straight. I know I couldn’t do it. It really is lovely and looks perfect on your couch.

  9. dixiebelle says:

    I just love it… great combination of colours! I just finished my first quilt, and joining squares together is something I will avoid next time!

  10. Katrina says:

    I’m so glad you showed me the pic up close to show that they are all different types that just blend together….as a total non quilter….can you tell me….how does that start….I see it’s small squares…..what size or strip do I put them in?? As in how to I get it all together….from the basics…umm not even sure I’m making sense here

  11. Urspo says:

    I’m pretty sure this quilt has fabric from every quilt I’ve ever made.

    what an awesome encyclopedia!

  12. victoria says:

    It’s absolutely wonderful and full of so many memories I’d imagine.

  13. Dee says:

    love this quilt

Don't be shy... say something!

