Onward and upward: like a cornflower in a wheelbarrow.

P1010140

Just to show that I’m getting the mojo back. I bought an old wheelbarrow at a garage sale a few months ago and Mick drilled drainage holes in the bottom of it for me. I planted lettuce in it but they didn’t do well. (So I planted them in the wicking bed… poor things were doomed from the second I brought them home!) I planted some cornflower seedlings and some nasturtium seeds in the barrow instead and look what’s growing!
Makes me happy. Tomorrow I’m going to a Permaculture group’s meeting and then I’ll tackle the wicking beds. I’m guessing my housework will never get done.

Found the following on a forum this morning. I loves me a good pun.

1. My neighbour knocked on my door at 2:30this morning, can you
believe that? 2:30am?
Luckily for him I was still up playing my Bagpipes.

2. The Grim Reaper came for me last night, and I beat him off with a
vacuum cleaner.
Talk about Dyson with death.

3. Paddy says, “Mick, I’m thinking of buying a Labrador.
“Really,” says Mick “have you seen how many of their owners go
blind”

4. I saw a poor old lady fall over today on the ice!!
At least I presume she was poor – she only had $1.20 in her purse.

5. My girlfriend thinks that I’m a stalker. Well, she’s not exactly my
girlfriend yet.

6. Woke up last night to find the ghost of Gloria Gaynor standing at
the foot of my bed.
At first I was afraid then I was petrified.

7. The wife has been missing a week now. Police said to prepare for
the worst.
So I have been to the charity shop to get all her clothes back.

8. A mate of mine admitted to being addicted to brake fluid.
When I quizzed him on it he reckoned he could stop any time.

9. I went to the cemetery yesterday to lay some flowers on a grave.
As I was standing there I noticed 4 grave diggers walking about with
a coffin,
3 hours later and they’re still walking about with it.
I thought to myself, “These guys have lost the plot!”

10. My daughter asked me for a pet spider for her birthday, so I went
to our local pet shop and they were $70.
“Blow this,” I thought, “I can get one cheaper off the web.”

11. Statistically, 6 out of 7 dwarves are not happy.

12. I was at an ATM yesterday when a little old lady asked if I could
check her balance, so I pushed her over.

13. I start a new job in Seoul next week. I thought it was a good Korea
move.

14. I was driving this morning when I saw an NRMA van parked on the
side of the road.
The driver was sobbing uncontrollably and looked very miserable.
I thought to myself, “That guy’s heading for a breakdown.”

15. I just met a fat, alcoholic, transvestite. He wants to eat, drink,
and be Mary.

This entry was posted in gardening, Just for fun.. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Onward and upward: like a cornflower in a wheelbarrow.

  1. Barb. says:

    All good but number 7 made me “lol”

    Good to hear about your mojo. Nothing worse than missing mojo…

    Barb.

  2. Snoskred says:

    Just a thought re your soil.

    I’m using rice hulls and zeolite in the chicken coop/run. Zeolite is a natural stone that sucks up nitrogen from the chook poop – it reduces the smell of the poop and soaks up moisutre as well.

    Once the coop starts to smell I know the zeolite has sucked up nitrogen to the capacity it can handle. So then it goes to the garden, where the zeolite releases the nitrogen. The rice hulls are a good mulch, I find.

    http://www.zeolite.com.au/products/zeolite.html

    The garden is really loving it and the chooks seem to enjoy it better than the sand I was using initially.

    Anyway this may be something you can find at a feed store and if so it might be worth putting some in the chook coop or pen in order to soak up goodies that you can release back to the garden in a month or two. It isn’t an immediate fix of course but sounds like this soil problem isn’t going to be a quick fix anyway, this might be worth a try.

  3. Jayne says:

    LMAO
    Love the cornflowers, such a lovely splash of blue 🙂
    I fear we’re in for another muggy summer as many lettuce and silverbeet seedlings are bolting already.

  4. CitricSugar says:

    Oh, this was just what I needed today! I have survived my first parent/teacher interviews. 🙂 Felt the need to check in on my favourite educators….

    Good luck with the wicking beds!

  5. Mare says:

    I burst out laughing at the Gloria Gaynor one!! Thanks for the cheer. Good luck with your soil.

  6. river says:

    Ha Ha!
    #1 is my favourite, bagpipes at 2.30am…

    I like the cornflowers.

  7. Ellen says:

    Ouch! Who thinks these things up… but very funny.

    Spring is my favourite season, full of so much promise. Your cornflowers and nasturtians in the wheelbarrow will make a stunning display. It is autumn here and our nasturtians are still at their vibrant best, fighting off a light morning frost. Friday afternoon is gardening time at school, and yesterday I showed a group of children how to collect cornflower seeds to save and plant next spring. The turning seasons…

Don't be shy... say something!

