A quick update.

A very quick catch up on the ph 10 compost fiasco:

Yesterday I received a phone call from the supplier, who sent an enthusiastic lad around who will dig out 50% of the compost from the beds, lay down some sulphur and then top up the beds with topsoil… at their expense. He’s pleased to be doing it, “I like to be active. I’m sick of driving trucks all day”… and I’m pleased that maybe I can grow things in the beds over summer.

The only thing is… I have to get all of the plants out before Thursday morning. He’s going to Port Douglas next week and this is a job that should be done sooner rather than later. So the Plant Ambulance will be brought out again.

Tonight after school I’ll be tutoring a year 10 kid for an hour, then I’ll jump in the car and race down to Coles. They have cheap potting mix. I’ll buy a couple of bags of it, then race home and begin transferring plants from their toxic soil to the interim soil.

Then I’ll go down to the bread shop to pick up what hasn’t sold, as I do every Tuesday, then come home, continue moving plants until I have to get ready for the Valedictory Dinner at the racecourse for the year 12s.

Tomorrow I’m going in to see the Tutankhamen exhibition with the year 7 History kids (a lurk and perk of teaching!), then as soon as we get back I’ll be in the garden, moving every last plant I can. I don’t know how many will survive.

I have 3 sorts of beans, 3 sorts of lettuce, mustard, stawberries, carrots, radish, parsnip, beetroot, capsicum, garlic, marigold, peas, zuchini and tomatoes planted in these beds. I’m hopeful that at least some of these will survive, but time will tell. I’ve resigned myself to resowing the root crops, while the capsiums are a lost cause. If I can get away with these as the only losses then I’ll be doing quite well.

Hopefully by the weekend the beds will be assembled again and I can continue on my merry way. Fingers crossed that it all goes well…

This entry was posted in wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A quick update.

  1. Well that is probably the best response that could have been expected from a supplier, and honestly more than I expected when I suggested contacting them.

    I am very glad to hear that this business takes customer service and satisfaction seriously.

  2. Bev says:

    I’m beginning to think you’ll never grow old. You just don’t have the time to do it!

  3. persiflage says:

    That’s good news, and gratifying that your supplier is helping rectify the situation.
    Goodness me, you are so energetic!
    How amazing that your cat eats the lemon grass.

  4. Catherine says:

    I’m feeling exhausted just looking at your schedule for the next few days. Hope it all goes well and you are where you are meant to be when you are meant to be …..if that makes sense. Yay for the supplier. That is what you call service.
    How are your beans going out of interest???? Mine are definatly greener.

  5. Sal says:

    You are far too busy for one person to be LOL!
    Good luck with the transferring the plants around, what a p.i.t.a.
    Hope the plants recover nicely and you can get on with gardening which is supposed to be stress relieving, not stress inducing!! 🙂

  6. river says:

    I’m so glad the supplier is doing this for you.
    A tip for the plants, those that survive and do well are clearly the strongest and if you can you should save seeds from those ones to plant next season.

  7. Keryn says:

    Grab some blocks of compressed coir fibre too; it’s a great soil improver, but we use it to keep plants going until we have time to plant them properly. We just bung it in a big tub and hydrate it according to the instructions, and bed the plants into it. They stay nice and moist, and even get some root growth happening. Our Coles stocks it…

    And afterwards it makes a great mulch, or incorporate it into your pots or garden beds. I always use it with potting mix, equal parts of each. Some even have a slow-release fertiliser built in, it’s miles better than just straight potting mix.

  8. Liz says:

    Impressive customer service! But then so it should be…..hopefully your seedlings survive – its a good time of year to be doing it, if you keep them well watered hopefully they will be alright.

  9. tracy says:

    Gawd. Like Catherine, I’m exhausted just at the thought of all you need to do. I hope the garden recovers. It’s sounding hopeful…

Don't be shy... say something!

